Summery Spiralised Courgette Carbonara

My first recipe post!  Today’s dinner was a bit of a throw-things-together experiment which I do believe worked very well.  It was light, tasty and perfect for a summer evening.  Pasta just doesn’t make me feel good, so I haven’t missed  it since going paleo – but I have missed the convenience and wealth of quick easy recipes I had up my culinary sleeve.  I’ve been coveting a spiraliser (a funky piece of kitchen equipment that makes noodles out of vegetables) for ages  – yes some girls (including me) covet handbags but I also covet kitchen equipment… Well, I got a spiraliser for my recent birthday and since then I have been excited about trying out all of my old pasta recipes but substituting the pasta with vegetable noodles.    I might need to get better at naming my dishes as I don’t think the tittle gives the dish justice.

Ingredients (serves 1)

1 medium sized courgette, clove of garlic, 1/4 diced onion, some sundried tomato, 1 egg, a bit of brocolli, spinach, lemon juice, pumpkin and sunflower seeds, parsley, black pepper, olive oil

Method

Toast the seeds in a frying pan, and set aside.  Sauté the garlic, onion and sun-dried tomato in a little olive oil.  Meanwhile spiralise the courgette’s into spaghetti and steam in a little water along with the broccoli for a couple of minutes (don’t let them get too soft).  Drain the courgette spaghetti and broccoli and add to the frying pan along with the onion and garlic etc.  Crack the egg into the frying pan, and continue to stir all the ingredients until the courgette is coated and the egg is no longer raw.  Add the spinach and keep stirring till slightly wilted, squeeze over some lemon juice.  Tip out onto serving plate and top with the toasted seeds, black pepper and some parsley.  I also drizzled over some delicious lemon-infused Olive oil that my mum brought back from a recent trip to Italy.

Variations

I’m sure you could play with this recipe to your heart’s content! Add some meat (shredded chicken or turkey, good quality bacon or ham)  / add a bit of chilli / pine nuts would be a great substitution too (I just didn’t have any) / or you could serve this as a side to a piece of meat or fish.

One thought on “Summery Spiralised Courgette Carbonara

  1. Pingback: Paprika Squid with Tartare Sauce | Natural Kitchen Adventures

Leave a Reply

