Tuna and Red Pesto Courgette Linguine

I’m off to Italy on a short holiday tomorrow (so no more posts for a bit) so tonight I fancied a taste of Italian flavours to get me in the mood.   I wanted something really quick because I worked quite late and also still have some packing to do!  Unfortunately I’m a little like old mother Hubbard at the moment, but as I can always guarantee that there will be a tin of tuna lying around in my cupboard a filling meal is never too far away.  There is always a tin of tuna in my desk drawer at work too, which has become a bit of an ongoing joke amongst my colleagues….  Anyway,  I’m lucky enough to live near a fruit & veg store which is open quite late, so I popped in on the way home for a courgette and some cherry tomatoes.  Quite pleased with this dish considering how thrown together it was!

Ingredients (serves 1)

  • 1 large courgette, spiralised
  • Tin of Tuna (in Spring water/olive oil is preferable)
  • 6 cherry tomatoes, sliced in half
  • For the pesto:  1 Tablespoon of Pine nuts, clove garlic, 4 sundried tomatoes  (I use the Merchant Gourmet dried ones), olive oil, lemon juice

Method

  • First make the pesto.  Lightly toast the pine nuts, then blend or bash together with about a Tablespoon of olive oil, a little boiling water, the crushed garlic and lemon juice.
  • Lightly boil/steam the spiralised courgettes for 2-3 minutes.  Meanwhile heat the sliced cherry tomatoes in a frying pan.  When the courgettes are done, drain them well and add to the frying pan.  Top with the pesto and stir through, then combine with the tuna.  Tip onto a serving plate and top with black pepper and fresh basil (or whatever you’ve got – I used dried parsley a la Weatherspoons because it made the dish look pretty for the camera…)
  • Hope I come back from Italy with some more inspiration!


Leave a Reply

