Chicken and Kale Curry

I threw some kale in my shopping basket this week as I’ve read recently that it’s super good for you and even better than spinach – yes that’s right Popeye!! (full of antioxidants, calcium, vitamin C and it is anti-inflammatory).  I also found some free-range chicken breasts on offer, and knowing that free-range is perceived to be the best type of chicken you can buy I ended up with them in my basket too.  I do try and buy free-range when I can, but do wish it was more competitively priced – I therefore try and make use of offers when they crop up (even if I did already have Salmon in my fridge ready to cook this evening…).

As ever with a new ingredient next step is google!  I tried “paleo kale chicken stew” then “paleo kale chicken curry”.  I quite fancied the sound of the curry one, and with a few adaptations to suit my spice rack, I came up with this.  Served here with steamed red cabbage (cos it was in the fridge) – and the verdict??  The free range chicken was absolutely delicious, really tender, but perhaps a little under-spiced.  Perhaps it will be spicier once the left-overs have spent some time in the freezer (anyone know why that is??)

Ingredients (serves 4)

  • 4 chicken breasts, diced
  • A 200g bag of curly kale
  • Handful of cherry tomatoes, halved
  • White onion, diced
  • 400ml can of coconut milk
  • Dry Spices & Seasoning:  1 T curry powder, 1 T turmeric,  ½ T ground coriander, ½ T ground ginger,  himalayan salt, black pepper
  • Coconut oil for frying, Olive oil for marinade

Method

  • Marinate the diced chicken breasts for at least 20 minutes in the dry spices along with 1 tablespoon of olive oil.
  • Heat the coconut oil in a large saucepan (around a tablespoon) and fry the diced onion till soft.
  • Add the marinated chicken and cook until browned (for about 10 minutes).
  • Add the kale till it begins to wilt then add in the halved cherry tomatoes.
  • Finally add the tin of coconut milk, and simmer for 15-20 minutes until the chicken is well cooked through and the sauce thickened.
  • Add fresh coriander if you’ve got some (I had to make do with dried coriander leaf!)  Season.
3 thoughts on “Chicken and Kale Curry

  1. Pingback: FRIDAY 11.07.08 « The Foodee Project | Meals for the paleo lifestyle

  2. Pingback: TheFoodee.com – FRIDAY 11.07.08

  3. Pingback: Thames CrossFit, London : Thames CrossFit, London

Leave a Reply

