Mini Crustless Chicken and Asparagus Picnic Quiches

Going to the opera this week at Glyndebourne with my colleagues, and during the interval (which lasts 80 minutes) it is customary to have a picnic diner.  These paleo mini quiches are my offering!  There is a way of making Paleo pastry, but as these work quite nicely without it, and really life is too short to make pastry,  I couldn’t be bothered!   I think the addition of the flax into the mixture is what helps them keep their shape (plus flax is amazingly good for you).  As there is no pastry I cook these in silicone baking cases, which they pop out of without any fuss.

Ingredients (makes 12 mini quiches)

  • 4 Eggs
  • 2 Tablespoons of ground flaxseed
  • 2 Asparagus spears
  • 4 Tablespoons of coconut milk
  • 6 Diced cherry tomatoes
  • Pine nuts and seasoning
  • Shredded roast chicken (approx 1 breast)
Method 
Pre-heat the oven to 180 degrees C.
Cut the asparagus into 1cm bits, and steam for 4 mins.  Finish them off on a griddle pan (I used lemon-infused olive oil on the pan) .  Meanwhile whisk the eggs with the coconut milk, flaxseed, and season.
Grease the silicone baking tray with olive oil (I use an olive oil spray, then make sure the trays are fully greased by using parchment paper to spread it about).  Half fill each case with the egg mixture, then fill each case with the asparagus, tomatoes and chicken.  Fill up the cases with the remainder of the egg mixture and top with pine nuts.
Bake in the oven at 180 degrees C for 25 minutes (or until browned).
I’ll pop these in the freezer until later this week.  Ideally I would have made them the night before but I already know I’m busy!  They should keep their flavour and texture well 🙂

Variations

You can vary the ingredients for these to your heart’s content.  I just happened to have some left-over roast chicken and asparagus!

These would be delicious for breakfast too!  (In fact I did make a few extra ones for that pupose…)

One thought on “Mini Crustless Chicken and Asparagus Picnic Quiches

  1. Pingback: Roasted Pepper, Cherry Tomato & Feta Crustless Quiches « Cucina Ceri

Leave a Reply

