Tuna Fish Patties

These are a variation on the salmon ones I cooked the other week, but oh my, they are far tastier (I confess I am a tuna addict) so recipe must be shared!  I was going for an Italian-palate flavour base with these.     Best served with a colourful salad and an olive-oil dressing (spinach, mixed leaves, broccoli and grated red cabbage below).  Easy peasy to do and much more of a taste sensation than a tin of tuna on some lettuce leaves. The combination of tuna and egg really reminded me of a tuna mayo mix and I haven’t eaten that for yonks!! Yum.

I know some people have issues with tuna, and its associated sustainability, added salt etc so I do always try and buy tuna only canned in spring water and also from a reputable company….

These keep well cold so a batch of these could be perfect to take along to a summer picnic.

Ingredients (makes 4 cakes)

  • 200g Tin of tuna 200g in spring water
  • 1 egg
  • 1/4 onion
  • 2 sun-dried tomatos (either oil ones soaked in a jar or some dried ones – I have the Merchant Gourmet ones)
  • A few pine nuts
  • Fresh basil leaves
  • Black pepper

Method

  • Finely dice the onion & tomatoes and combine in a blender with the tuna, egg, pine nuts, basil and black pepper.
  • Heat a generous amount of  olive oil in a frying pan and when the pan is really hot spoon 4 dollops of the mixture onto the pan.
  • Flip half way through cooking (around 3 minutes on each side).
Leave a Reply

