Avocado Bread

I found my way to this recipe rather randomly.  Last week I found some hemp flour in a health food shop, and after a failed attempt at a spinach pancake I’ve since spent quite some time ‘googling’ for an actual recipe (rather than trying to make one up from my brain).  I still haven’t found a good one so any suggestions very welcome please!  Most suggestions are to mix it with whole-wheat or grain flours as hemp flour doesn’t have any rising properties – but am hardly going to do that am I?  Anyway, whilst searching I came across a recipe for avocado bread.  At first I thought this was a bit weird but then when you think about avocodo havig a similar texture to banana – and there are lots of banana bread recipes I had every confidence this would work.  I made a few revisions here and there to the original, varied the quantities to make a larger load, and added ground flaxseed (quelle surprise), sun-dried tomatoes and dried parsley, and hemp seeds on top.  I didn’t use the spicy chilli that the recipe suggested.

If you can get over the very green colour then go for it!  I was a little surprised at how tasty this was, really moist and excellent for breakfast this morning!  Will keep for around 3 days in an airtight container or much much longer in the freezer.

Thanks to my housemate for suggesting I get creative with the scene setting….

Ingredients (makes 10-12 slices)

  • 1.5 large ripe avocados (Hass type used here)
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 cup ground almonds
  • 1/2 cup ground flaxseed
  • 1/3 cup olive oil (I used a lemon infused one)
  • 5 Sundried tomatoes finely cut.
  • 1.5 tsps gluten free baking powder
  • tsp black pepper
  • tsp dried parsley

Green goo in the mixing bowl! –  It even tastes awesome raw.

Method

  • Pre-heat oven to 180 degrees C.
  • Blend the avocado till smooth (preferably with a blender/hand-blender rather then a masher, the smoother the avocado the better) .
  • In a mixing bowl combine the eggs with the flours, and the rest of the ingredients above (bar the hemp seeds).
  • Spoon into a well-oiled silicone loaf tray, sprinkle with hemp seeds.
  • Bake in the centre of the oven at 180 degrees C for 1 hour .
  • Cool on a rack

Serve for breakfast spread with Tahini/nut butter + scrambled egg..

Update:  3rd July….
I’ve just made this for a second time, using my new mini loaf tins – et voila 4 perfect little loaves of Avocado Bread – 1 per breakfast serving.  These required a shorter baking time of 35 minutes.
4 thoughts on “Avocado Bread

  1. Pingback: Faux Lasagna « Cucina Ceri

  2. Pingback: Faux Lasagna « Cucina Ceri

  3. Pingback: Chocolate Cupcakes with Secret Creamy Frosting | Cucina Ceri

  4. Pingback: Favorite/Best Recipes | Mark's Daily Apple Health and Fitness Forum page

Leave a Reply

