Creamy Basil Pesto

It’s always exciting (well for me it is) when one strikes gold with a new recipe idea.  Spying the words creamy basil pesto from a new sauce (pardon the pun sorry – source) immediately drew my eyes in.  As we all know I lurve italian flavours and especially pesto – even the smell of the sauce alone is enough to send my taste buds into a flutter of excitement.  Pesto originates in Liguria which is the region in North Italy my Uncle and Aunty live in so I’ve had a lot of it in my time!  However, for the Paleo diet shop bought sauces aren’t favoured.  They nearly always include some sort of dairy, whether it be Parmigiana (Parmesan) cheese or cream.

As the basil I planted in my window boxes a few weeks back is really beginning to take off, the discovery of this recipe was perfect timing. I think the satisfaction of this tasty sauce was partly in the homegrown produce – the smell of the fresh basil alone – wow!  Anyway… Let’s fast forward to the delights of this recipe (slightly adapted from Paleo Plan )


Ingredients (makes approx 200 mls) 

  • 1/4 cup (or 4 tablespoons) of ground almonds
  • 1/4 cup (or 4 tablespoons) of coconut milk (I use Kara, or almond milk is also suggested)
  • 1/4 cup of Olive oil
  • 2 cloves of garlic (minced or finely chopped)
  • 1 tablespoon pine nuts
  • Half the juice of a lemon
  • Around 8 fresh basil leaves
  • Pinch salt (preferably himalayan salt as it is un-processed)

Method

  • Whizz all ingredients in a blender and gently heat in a saucepan till the sauce has thickened.

I served mine stirred through some steamed spiralised courgettes, broccoli, mushroom and king prawns. The quantity did 2 portions of ‘pasta’ with some left over which I will freeze.

I can’t wait to have this poured over a chicken breast, or adapt it with coriander (lots of that on my windowsill too) or adapt it further to use it in some kind of bake as a substitute for Béchamel. I will of course keep you posted on my adventures…

2 thoughts on “Creamy Basil Pesto

  1. Pingback: Creamy Pesto Baked Salmon, with Kale & Broccoli on the side « Cucina Ceri

  2. Pingback: Faux Lasagna « Cucina Ceri

Leave a Reply

