Chocolate Cupcakes (decorated with a chocolate & strawberry topping)

Sugar, Gluten & Dairy free Paleo Cupcakes

It was my friends birthday yesterday, so I made a batch of these as a special treat.  I took them along to last night’s party and I’m pretty sure they went down well as they all got eaten – yay!  (and not just by me I might add…)

I found a recipe for these here, so the credit for them doesn’t go to me!   I didn’t want to do a cream cheese topping (as in the recipe) so I made up some coconut oil chocolate and used this to drizzle over the top, which also worked as a glue for the strawberries. I wonder if the missing sugar, dairy or gluten was noticed by the non-paleo eaters?…

I was really proud of how these turned out – they are so pretty!  I think I may have well and truly caught the paleo cake-baking bug!

Ingredients (makes 12)

For the cakes;

  • 100g ground almonds
  • 25g raw cacao powder
  • 1/2 tsp gluten free baking powder
  • 100g Raw honey
  • 50g Extra Virgin Olive Oil
  • 3 medium free range eggs
For the topping;
  • 1 tablespoon coconut oil, 1 Raw honey, 1 tablespoon raw cacao powder (this is a slight variation on my Coconut Oil Chocolate and I used less cacao powder so it would be runnier)
  • 6 strawberries, sliced in half
Method 
  • Pre-heat oven to 170 degrees Celsius.
  • Sieve and mix together the almonds, cacao and baking powder.
  • In a separate bowl whisk together the eggs, olive oil and honey.
  • Combine the wet and dry ingredients.
  • Spoon into 12 paper cupcake cakes.
  • Bake in the oven for 18 minutes.
  • Leave to cool on a wire cooling rack.
  • When the cakes are fully cooled make the topping by melting the coconut oil, and stirring in the honey and cacao powder.
  • Use a teaspoon to spread a little melted chocolate onto each cake, top with half a strawberry (I did a few at a time as the chocolate hardens quickly and it needs to be runny for the strawberry to stick!)
  • Drizzle a little more chocolate over the finished cakes.
  • Place in the fridge to set.
6 thoughts on “Chocolate Cupcakes (decorated with a chocolate & strawberry topping)

  1. Vickii

    These do look wonderful Ceri! I might give them a go so as to get Adura to stop hassling me about doing some Paleo baking! Ha ha, the baking cake bug is an easy one to catch!

    Reply
    1. Ceri Post author

      Please do give them a go – can’t wait to see how yours turn out Vickii – and if you find a way of making the sponge a bit more moist, do share any tips 😉

      Reply
  2. Pingback: Bounty Cupcakes « Cucina Ceri

  3. Pingback: Cupcakes « Cucina Ceri

  4. Pingback: 5 Minute Dessert: Paleo Chocolate Cake In A Cup | Oh Snap! Let's Eat!

  5. Pingback: Paleo and Gluten Free Almond Brownies | Oh Snap! Let's Eat!

Leave a Reply

