Broad Bean and Mint Dip

I was  bit nervous about posting this recipe, because it isn’t quite ‘Paleo’ (well not according to some..) There is much confusion and conflicting info out there surrounding some legumes.  Some Paleo followers allow green beans etc, some don’t (there are also conflicting thoughts about potatoes).

I’ve been making this dip ever since I went on an Italian cooking course at La Cucina Caldesi cooking school (Marylebone, London) last year at (lovely birthday gift from my girlies).  It’s absolutely delicious, has a green vegetable as its main ingredient and I just can’t find a way to reason that this shouldn’t have a place on this blog.  I can’t wait till I start my nutrition course in the autumn which I hope will flood my little brain with more knowledge to back up my thoughts on all varieties of foods and their place in my diet.  It’s not like I’m posting a recipe for candy floss or pork pies (two things I will NEVER eat, not even when drunk…)

Ingredients 

  • 350g broad beans in their shells (I used frozen ones, but you could also use fresh)
  • 8 tablespoons  /  1/2 cup extra virgin olive oil
  • Juice of half a lemon
  • 2 cloves of garlic
  • 1 tablespoon dried mint (or fresh)

Method

  • Boil beans for 5 minutes, cool and remove the shells (NB this takes ages!!)
  • Whizz all ingredients in a blender, adding the oil a little at a time.  Adjust the quantities of oil and lemon juice to achieve desired texture.

I had a big blob of this on-top of my Haddock and Sweet Potato Fish Cakes .  Also tasty with crudités etc.

Leave a Reply

