Avocado and Courgette Bread

I was all set to make a batch of some of my Avocado Bread last week, but as my avocados were on the small side and I had a courgette lurking, I had a brain wave to include it into the dough to help with the lack of moisture.  As I was almost out of  ground flaxseed too, I decided to add in some Hemp flour instead.  I bought this packet of Hemp flour weeks ago and am struggling to find uses for it (bought in a health food shop next door to Spitalfields Church, London by the make Sun and Seed.  It’s very green and a little gritty in texture – although I’m sure its health benefits outweigh this!  Anyway, it worked really well in this recipe and also including a good squeeze of lemon juice helped to balance out the flavour.  I’m going to play around with this avocado bread again in future, I’m sure there are far more tasty variations to be found!

I made 4 mini loaves (each one perfect for breakfast with a side of a boiled egg) but you could also make 1 larger loaf with the same ingredients.  The cooked loaves freeze well.

Ingredients

  • 2 small ripe avocados (Hass type used here)
  • 1 medium courgette grated
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 cup ground almonds
  • 1/4 cup ground flaxseed
  • 1/4 cup Hemp Flour
  • 1/4 cup Olive oil
  • Juice of 1/4 lemon
  • 5 Sundried tomatoes finely cut.
  • 1.5 tsps gluten free baking powder
  • mixed seeds to top
Method 
  • Pre-heat oven to 180 degrees C.
  • Blend the avocado till smooth (preferably with a blender/hand-blender rather then a masher, the smoother the avocado the better) .
  • In a mixing bowl combine the avocados with the eggs, flours, grated courgettes and the rest of the ingredients above (bar the hemp seeds).
  • Spoon into a well-oiled silicone mini-loaf tray, sprinkle with seeds.
  • Bake in the centre of the oven at 180 degrees C for 35 minutes.
  • Cool on a rack
2 thoughts on “Avocado and Courgette Bread

Leave a Reply

