Banana and Pear Loaf

I’ve pretty much spent the entire Summer at Hen weekends, and at weddings, whilst absolutely lovely this has been it’s done nothing for my waistline… Whilst a weekend may only be 2 days of indulgence I always find it very difficult to rid myself of the sweet cravings that follow a period of over indulgence.  Monday always starts with great intentions, but then post lunch I need something sweet and by mid afternoon I’m staring at the office biscuit tin.  No matter how hard I try I find it difficult to resist.  Come Thursday I’m still staring at the tin and have probably helped myself to more than I should have.  Anyway to cut a long story short, what I should be doing is preparing myself some healthier sweet treats to snack on at work and at home in the evening – ones that don’t send my blood sugar levels bouncing all over the shop and still make me feel like I’m getting a treat.  This weekend I made a healthy cake – the sweetness only comes from the fruit, I personally really like it.  This is a really basic recipe which can be varied to your hearts content.  I’ll make a note of the basic recipe below as well as what I baked this time around.

Basic Recipe

Makes a loaf cake (NB will be shallow as the flours don’t rise as there is no gluten), or alternatively 12 small muffins

  • 1 & 1/4 cup of flour of your choice (e.g.  ground almonds, coconut flour, chestnut flour, ground flaxseed)
  • 2 medium free-range eggs
  • 1 Tablespoon of melted coconut oil
  • 1 banana
  • 1 piece of fruit (e.g pear, apple, blueberries etc)
  • Teaspoon gluten free baking powder
  • Flavourings (e.g. 1 tsp cinnamon, ginger, lemon juice, vanilla essence)
  • Something to top the loaf (e.g. dessicated coconut, flaked almonds, pecans, walnuts)


Ceri’s Banana and Pear Loaf 

I went a bit mad with the flours, and tried a combination of all of them.  The chestnut flavour is quite overpowering but it does create a lovely flavour.  Although I think the ginger flavour got a bit lost there  lost.  I’ll definitely be playing with this recipe in future, and trying all the combinations of the ingredients above!

  • 1/2 cup ground almonds
  • 1/4 cup coconut flour
  • 1/4 cup chestnut flour
  • 1/4 cup ground flaxseed
  • 2 free range eggs
  • 1 Tablespoon melted coconut oil
  • 1 banana
  • 1 conference pear grated
  • 1 teaspoon gluten free baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon ginger
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla essence
  • Flaked almonds to top
Method
  • Pre-heat oven to 175 degrees Celcius
  • Blend the banana with the eggs and the coconut oil
  • In a mixing bowl combine all of the flours + the ginger, then stir in the above wet ingredients
  • Add in the grated pear, combine well then pour into a well-greased silicone loaf tin.
  • Top with flaked almonds and stick in the oven for 50 minutes, until the top is browned and a knife comes out clean.  If you aren’t using chesnut flour the cooking time will be far less – adapt as necessary.
  • Cool on a rack, and slice (I cut mine into 8 even sized square chunks, rather than thin slices as they keep better this way)
  • Once cooled the cake can be frozen in its individual portions – make great snacks!

Q. I never want to eat a pudding after breakfast, so why do I always need one after lunch or dinner???

3 thoughts on “Banana and Pear Loaf

  1. Pingback: Your Questions About Gluten And Wheat Free Recipes | Gluten Free Guide

Leave a Reply

