Banana loaf laced with Chocolate and Orange

Banana, chocolate and orange loaf  / chocolate chunk banana orange cake / chocolate orange banana cake???  Argh what to call this cake… Banana loaf laced with Chocolate and Orange it is!!

Another office birthday, another excuse to try out a Ceri creation. I’ve always loved the combination of chocolate and orange – when I was growing up we always got a Terry’s chocolate orange in our Christmas stockings (I’d easily devour the whole thing before my Christmas dinner – yes really!!!) So I set about using the flavours together in this cake. The basic recipe is loosely based on the quantities from my chocolate coconut banana loaf cake , but I increased the ingredients to produce a larger loaf to serve more people.

I’m not sure what I feel about using coconut flour in my baking yet. It’s a new ingredient for me, and behaves in a very different way to ground almonds. It is incredibly absorbent and even with all those bananas and eggs I had to add a little coconut milk to loosen the batter. Anyway the cake was very moist and the right level of sweetness for my tastebuds (those trusty bananas). It went down well amongst my colleagues when it was served with some birthday candles and a cup of tea this morning! Well, it all got eaten. Mmmm….

Ingredients (enough for 12 slices) 

  • 3 ripe bananas
  • 3 medium free-range eggs
  • 1/4 cup coconut oil (melted)
  • 1 tsp orange essence
  • 1 cup ground almonds
  • 1/2 cup coconut flour (Tiana)
  • 1.5 tsp gluten-free baking powder
  • 1/4 cup coconut milk (Kara coconut milk, or you could use water)
  • 50g dark chocolate (I used Green & Blacks 85%)
Method
  • Pre-heat the oven to 180 degrees celcius
  • In a mixing bowl combine the almonds, coconut flour and baking powder.
  • Blend the 3 bananas with the eggs,  the coconut oil and orange essence.
  • Pour the banana/egg mix into the flours and combine into a sloppy dough
  • At this stage I decided to make the addition of the coconut milk as the batter wasn’t wet enough (coconut flour is very absorbent)
  • Cut the chocolate into chunks and add into the batter
  • Grease a loaf tin with coconut oil and pour in the batter
  • Bake in the oven for around 35-40 minutes (or until a knife comes out clean)
2 thoughts on “Banana loaf laced with Chocolate and Orange

    1. Ceri Post author

      Hi Tashe,
      You can get the flour from Whole Foods, Planet Organic or also Alara Health Store near Brunswick Centre / Russell Square (London….). Beware it’s quite pricey though at nearly £6 a bag (500g) so I tend to save it for special baking occasions rather for everyday use 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

