Spicy Roasted Carrot & Butternut Squash Soup

Urgh….. I’ve been ill this week.  Many sincerest apologies to everyone who knows me and has listened to me consistently moan ALL week long – In my defence I hardly ever get ill (barely once a year), so really can’t cope when I do!  As a result I’ve been very lazy in the kitchen (or more to the point chained to the sofa) and my appetite has been behaving very strangely – mostly craving chocolate and stodgy carbs, which I’m afriad I have absolutely caved into! Oops.  I’m sure when I’m feeling better normal service will be resumed….

Anyway, the afternoon I started feel a bit flu-ey I grabbed some ingredients to make a big vat of spicy soup, and here are the results!  This made enough for 5 portions, so I stashed some in the freezer for future consumption.  I absolutely love making soups like this – so very quick, easy and tasty.  What’s more a little goes a long way!   Now that we’re heading into Autumn I plan to make a lot more soups, there are about a billion and one, permutations and combinations of flavours – I’ll just need to make sure there is enough room in the freezer for them all!   A bowl makes a great starter or snack, and to bulk it out for dinner you could have it with a grilled chicken breast on the side.

I’ve also discovered this week the joys of a chunk of fresh root ginger in with my hot water and lemon – very soothing.  I’ll be continuing with this even when my ailments have dissipated into a long forgotten oblivion.

Ingredients

  • 4 large carrots, chopped
  • 1 butternut squash, chopped (I do not peel mine as I like the skin)
  • Extra virgin olive oil
  • Half a white onion, finely chopped
  • 2 cloves of garlic, finely chopped
  • Chunk of root ginger (about 1cm), finely chopped
  • 2 teaspoons of whole coriander seed
  • 2 Tablespoons curry powder
  • 1 Vegetable stock cube (try and use the non MSG, Gluten-free, low salt ones)
  • 1.5 litres boiling water

Method

  • Pre-heat the oven to 180 degrees.
  • Place the squash and carrot chunks on a baking tray and drizzle with olive oil.  Roast in the oven for 40 minutes, turning occasionally.
  • Meanwhile, sauté the onion and garlic, and root ginger in a large saucepan in a little olive oil till they start to colour, add the coriander seed.
  • Once the squash and carrot are soft and roasted through, tip into the saucepan with the onions, and add the curry powder.  Stir till all the mixture is covered and the spices release their aroma.
  • Add in the stock cube, water and seasoning.
  • Simmer for 10 minutes or so.
  • Turn of the heat and either blend using a hand held blender, or pour into a larger blender.
  • Return the mixture to the saucepan (if using a larger blender).  At this point you may need to add a touch of boiling water if the mixture is too thick.
  • Spoon into bowls, top with roasted butternut squash seeds (see here for recipe), seasoning and fresh (or dried) coriander or parsley and eat.
  • Once cooled the soup can be frozen.
Leave a Reply

