Bounty Cupcakes

Another day… Another cake sale… Well that’s quite the norm in my office anyway!  A friend and colleague of mine is running her first half marathon this weekend in aid of Braintrust and as it is so easy to raise a few extra pennies for the cause by selling cakes to one and all in my office, one was organised.

First up I rustled up these ‘bounty’ cakes. So called because the 2 main flavours are chocolate and coconut, just like a bounty bar.  I decided not to tell anyone they were paleo and see if they noticed.  Trouble is most people know me too well so assumed…  Still I think they received a general seal of approval from the more ‘sympthathetic to the cause’ amongst us. Think I’m just going to have to live with the fact that people who just don’t get me/paleo are NEVER going to appreciate the effort I go to, to bake in this way or even enjoy the taste, but that’s their tough luck. Baking brings me so much joy, I really couldn’t care less!

I based this recipe on some chocolate cupcakes I made a while back. I would have used coconut oil but I had run out and instead used olive oil, think it would have gone better with the flavour combination, and I think they’re very pretty too, apologies for the blackberry picture.

Being concerned that 12 cupcakes (after tasting 1 or 2) wouldn’t be enough for the sale, the following evening I baked up a lemon variation. Recipe to follow on a future post…

Ingredients (makes 12-15)

Cake –

  • 75g Ground almonds
  • 25g Coconut powder
  • 25g raw cacao
  • 50g olive oil
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 100mls sweet freedom
Topping-
  • 1 Tablespoon of coconut oil, cacao powder, sweet freedom. Dessicated coconut to sprinkle
Method

  • Pre-heat the oven to 175 degrees Celsius.
  • Sieve the almonds, coconut power, cacao powder and baking powder into a large bowl.
  • Meanwhile separate the eggs and whisk the whites until stiff.  You don’t have to do this but it makes a lighter sponge.
  • Whisk together the egg yolks, oil and sweet freedom – this is akin to creaming together butter, sugar and eggs in a conventional cake.
  • Stir the wet ingredients into the dry, and then lastly fold in the egg whites until combined.
  • Pour into individual cupcake cases and bake in the oven for around 16 minutes, checking in the last few minutes to avoid burning… It will depend entirely on what your oven is like and how long it had been pre-heated.  Mine were a touch on the brown side and not just because of the chocolate…
  • Cool on a wire rack.
  • Once cooled you can make and add the topping.  Melt the oil & sweet freedom together then stir in the cacao.
  • Dollop and spread a teaspoon full onto each cake and sprinkle with dessicated coconut.
  • Place cakes in the fridge for the topping to set.
Notes – for info on these ingredients look up my other  recipes such as Coffee and Walnut Cupcakes or chocolate cupcakes
3 thoughts on “Bounty Cupcakes

  1. Pingback: Lemony Coconut Cupcakes « Cucina Ceri

Leave a Reply

