Egg Avocadaise

I really love this combo, though previously I was never much of a fan of egg mayonnaise.  I think it had something to do with my stint in a sandwich shop age 15. I actually really enjoyed my Saturday mornings there, making up baguette’s, toasted sarnies, and scraping out the caramel shortbread and tiffin trays (nom!)  But I distinctly remember hating making up the egg mayonnaise – shelling about 30 smelly eggs in one go, and mixing it up with the bucket of  white, gloopy, wibbly-wobbly cheap ‘cash and carry’ mayonnaise.   Well, that was 14 years ago and I’m pleased to say I’ve a new found love of boiled eggs.  A while back I made a creamy dressing for a coleslaw and here is a similar version but for eggs.  It’s very green!

I had mine for dinner this evening, with a dollop of a green lentil salad, a gluten free sausage, a tomato and grated carrot and beetroot, drizzled with flax oil and topped with mixed seeds.  Hmm random you say?  Well I was eating up the contents of my fridge on a Sunday evening, and I think it made an excellent combo.

Ingredients 

  • 6 eggs
  • 1 medium sized very ripe avocado – I used a fuerte
  • 3 Tablespoons of Kara Coconut milk
  • A few basil leaves
  • Tsp olive oil
  • Himalayan salt
  • Black pepper

Method

  • Hard boil the eggs, cool, peel and leave to one side.
  • Blend the avocado with the coconut milk, basil and olive oil.  You may need to adjust the quantities to reach the desired consistency – this is your ‘avocadaise’
  • Chop the eggs into small pieces, and place in a separate bowl, add the avocadaise bit by bit and stir lightly till the mixture resembles ‘egg mayo’
  • Season with salt and pepper.

I’ve got lots left over, and going to have a portion again for lunch tomorrow, but I also think this would make a tasty breakfast.

Leave a Reply

