Union Jack Cupcakes

Otherwise know as chocolate cupcakes, with a cream-cheese frosting, decorated with fresh raspberries and blueberries….

The whole of Britain has gone absolutely Union Jack crazy of late  (I even bought a pair of Union Jack wellies for my camping trip a few weeks ago) and it’s been great fun for the nation to come together for a change to enjoy celebrating the Queen’s Jubilee this weekend.  I can’t wait till the Olympics later this summer – double Union Jack whammy!

I have been eyeing up many jubilee cake ideas in various magazines so jumped at the chance to have a go myself in honour of a Jubilee tea party I was invited to this weekend.  My aim, as always was to create a recipe based on un-processed ingredients, gluten-free and without refined sugar, so also no relying on food colouring or royal icing for the flag-inspired topping – Raspberries and blueberries to the rescue!

I tried a new cupcake recipe for this, which I was absolutely delighted with; using coconut flour, instead of my usual baking flour of ground almonds.  The cake was lighter in texture, far more cakey, and got great feedback from the eaters, so I’ll definitely be experimenting more with coconut flour in the near future.  I’ve had some initial bad experiences with coconut flour, particularly since it is so absorbent you can’t just sub volume for volume with other recipes.  So this time I used an actual recipe  (with a few Ceri freestyling moments….) from Elana’s Pantry – a great website for cupcake ideas.   It’s going to take a bit of confidence for me to get to the experimental stage with coconut flour, but on the back of this success I’m more than prepared to give it a try – looking forward to some plain vanilla cupcakes, carrot cake, coffee cake, scones & brownies to follow!

If you look closely you will even see that I’ve used Union Jack cupcake cases! (many thanks to my friend Ellie for sourcing them for me)

Ingredients (makes 12 cupcakes)

Cake:

  • 1/4 cup coconut flour (I use Tiana brand, which is available in most health stores)
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened organic cocoa powder (or raw cacao even better)
  • 1/2 tsp gluten free baking powder
  • pinch Himalayan salt
  • 3 free-range eggs
  • 1/4 cup melted coconut oil
  • 1/2 cup liquid sweetener such as organic honey or sweet freedom (I used 1/4 cup of each which felt like a lot of sweetener but this was for a special occasion…)

Frosting:

  • 250g of organic cream cheese (I use Sainsbury’s SO Organic, which has no added nasties or preservatives)
  • 2 Tablespoons organic honey
  • 1 Tablespoon coconut oil
  • tsp vanilla essence
  • Raspberries and blueberries to decorate

Method

  • Pre-heat oven to 170 degrees C (fan oven)
  • In a large mixing bowl, mix together the dry ingredients – coconut flour, cocoa, baking powder and salt.
  • In a separate bowl, blend (or whisk) together the eggs, coconut oil and honey.
  • Mix the wet ingredients into the dry and whisk together.
  • Pour into 12 cupcake cases and bake in the oven for 20-25 minutes.
  • While the cupcakes are baking make up the frosting, since it will need to sit in the fridge to firm up before spreading.
  • Beat the cream cheese in a small bowl along with the honey, coconut oil and essence.  Do not over-beat or use an electronic whisk as the cream cheese will loose its consistency and turn milky (believe me I know!).  Place the frosting in the fridge to firm up for use (you can keep in the bowl or put into a piping bag).
  • When the cupcakes are baked, cool on a wire rack for at least an hour before spreading each with a little icing (I tried piping it on, but lets face it, I’m no piping expert, so just smoothing it on with a spoon will work just fine…) & then decorate with raspberries and blueberries in the shape of a Union Jack flag.

Next time I make patriotic cupcakes I’ll be going back to my welsh roots to create a dragon on a base of green and white….. HELP!!!!!!

3 thoughts on “Union Jack Cupcakes

  1. Pingback: Raspberry vanilla cupcakes, with raspberry cream cheese frosting & pistachio dusting « Cucina Ceri

  2. Pingback: Sporting Snacks Blog Event Round Up | Fabulicious Food

  3. Pingback: Pop-up Paleo & Gluten Free Afternoon Tea: My Reflections | Natural Kitchen Adventures

Leave a Reply

