Cumin Dosa, Stuffed with Spicy Sweet Potato & Goats Cheese

Indian Street Food on my London Plate

Sometimes I just don’t feel like eating meat – strange you may think, for someone who quite regularly scoffs chicken for breakfast?  Anyway, when I was having a meat-free moment last week, starring at my kitchen cupboards, I recalled from the depths of my brain an idea I had stored from Jamie Oliver’s new programme – ‘Jamie’s Summer Food Rave Up’ .

Pukka mate

In his programme Jamie made a Dosa which is an Indian Street Food dish.   However, as always I like to take a recipe I’ve seen as mere inspiration, play around with it a bit and in the process make it conform to my nutritional aspirations.  Jamie’s recipe uses a mixture of Wheat and Gram Flour (from ground Chick Peas).  My recipe actually works perfectly fine without the need to use a Wheat Flour and since Gram Flour is naturally Gluten free it’s great to use in this instance (you may have also seen me use it in my Falafel recipe)

Other moderations to the recipe include; Adding a bit of Cumin to the batter since it gives such a stonking flavour, taking out the white potatoes as they are less nutritious than sweet potatoes (and in my opinion why would you ever eat a white potato when you can eat a sweet potato), lastly I added a bit of goats cheese to the potato mix, simply because I had some in the fridge that needed eating up, and also because I am currently loving it.

Cumin Dosa, stuffed with Spicy Sweet Potato and Goat’s Cheese

Ingredients (serves 1)

  • 1/3 cup gram flour
  • 1/3 cup water
  • Handful of fresh Coriander leaf  / tsp of dried leaf
  • Tsp cumin
  • 1 small sweet potato, diced
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • Olive oil
  •  ½ tsp ground coriander
  • pinch chilli flakes
  • 5 cherry tomatoes diced
  • Small lump of Goats cheese
  • Coconut oil
  • Fresh mint leaves
  • Squeeze lime juice
  • Green leaves to serve

Method

  • First make up the Dosa batter.  Whisk together the gram flour & water, add in the cumin and coriander.  Rest the batter whilst you make up the filling.  The longer you leave the batter (ideally overnight) the better, as the flour ferments which makes it easier to digest and enhances its nutritional properties.
  • Boil the sweet potato until soft, mash.
  • In a frying pan sauté the garlic in a little olive oil, then add in the mash, ground coriander, cherry tomatoes, and stir through.  Crumble in the goats cheese, stir and set aside.
  • In a separate large frying pan (dinner plate sized or thereabout) heat a tsp of coconut oil and ensure the surface is well covered.  Pour in the Gram flour batter till the surface is covered.  Cook for a few minutes until the underside is lightly browned and you feel like flipping it wouldn’t cause it to break in half.  When ready flip over!
  • Slid the finished Dosa onto a plate, spoon on the potato mix, and sprinkle with the fresh mint and also fresh coriander if you have it. Fold over/roll up the Dosa and add some dressed leaves to the side of the plate.

You can eat these with your fingers, since they are meant to be street food,  but as I am posh, I ate mine off a plate.

2 thoughts on “Cumin Dosa, Stuffed with Spicy Sweet Potato & Goats Cheese

    1. Ceri @CucinaCeri Post author

      Great to hear Angie – hope you enjoy it and the rest of my recipes – would love to hear how you get on – why don’t you take a photo and upload to my facebook page? Thanks for taking the time to comment!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

