Sausage & Cavolo Nero

A One-Pot Weekday Wonder

I’d call this a stir fry, but really that implies this is some far-eastern inspired wok dish, when in actual fact it uses home-grown British ingredients, with a flavour-base veering on the Italian – naturally for Cucina Ceri – so I’m just going to call it simply ‘Sausage & Cavolo Nero’ (any waves of inspiration for a better tittle, please let me know….)

I happened to be passing through Borough Market  last Saturday. I say happened, but it wasn’t really an accident…. I hadn’t planned a big trip there, but since I use London Bridge as my main station to travel back to south east London from the centre of town, it always seems a little rude to pass on a Saturday and not drop in… I was a very good girl, resisted all sorts of scrumptious looking gluten-free chocolate brownies, and escaped with my wallet still full – well, as full as my wallet will ever be – bar some loose change for a packet of organic and British grown Cavolo Nero.

Cavolo Nero literally translates as ‘Black Cabbage’ and is from the same family as Kale.  I‘ve been a huge fan of Kale for a long time – all that green goodness, vitamins and minerals oozing out of its leaves – but I’ve never tasted Cavolo Nero before.  Well what to do with the Cavolo?  I didn’t really think about this at the time of buying, nor when I dashed out of the house very early this morning on the way to the gym, pausing to whip out some sausages from the depth of my freezer thinking that I needed some protein to go with my tea.  Some hours later in a moment of procrastination at work I did a quick web search on ‘Sausages and Cavolo Nero’  to discover  they are actually a very good flavour match and stumbled on some rather lovely ideas involving pasta.  However since I don’t do pasta – here is my version.   This was so incredibly quick and easy to throw together for a mid-week supper, and even better that there is just one-pot to wash up.  I will quite happily ‘happen to pass through that Borough Market’ again (and again…. and again…)

Ingredients (serves 2)

  • Extra Virgin Olive Oil
  • 6 Free-range 97% Pork Sausages (Gluten Free), sliced into chunks.
  • 3 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 1 medium courgette, cut into small chunks
  • Handful of fresh rosemary
  • Pinch chilli flakes
  • 200g Organic Cavolo Nero, shredded
  • Squeeze lemon juice
  • Freshly ground black pepper

Method

  • Heat a little olive oil in a large saucepan or wok.  Don’t allow the oil to heat too high, since using olive oil at high temperatures isn’t ideal.  Throw in the sausage chunks, and fry until browned and cooked through.
  • Add in the garlic, courgettes and continue to stir the ingredients lightly to ensure they cook evenly.  Sprinkle in some fresh rosemary leaves and a pinch of chilli flakes.
  • When the courgettes look done, add in the Cavolo Nero, and stir.  The Cavolo will wilt down, but this will take a little time, so be patient.  Keep a wooden spoon moving the Cavolo around the pan.
  • When the Cavolo has wilted sufficiently, squeeze a little lemon juice over the dish and serve up, adding a good dose of freshly ground black pepper, and an extra drizzle of extra virgin olive oil if desired.

I had a bit of Cavolo Nero left over, so I also made some ‘chips’  – one of my favourite things to usually do with Curly Kale.   It worked just as well, if not even better and is incredibly simple to do:  Turn the oven to 150degrees Celsius (fan oven), cut the large leaves into manageable (hand) sized bits and toss in a teaspoon of olive oil, a pinch of Himalayan (or Sea) salt, and a pinch of dried herbs.  Bake in the oven for 20 mins or till cripsy.  A very tasty and nutritious snack.

3 thoughts on “Sausage & Cavolo Nero

  1. luci

    my mum used to do a lively “pizza” vith corn flour and cavolo nero , do a very smooth “polentina” with corn flour and water, mix the cavolo nero stirred with oil and garlic, put in a pan and cook in the oven like a pizza, that’s very nice!

    Reply
  2. Pingback: Kale & Yam Hash, with Sunny Side-up Eggs | Natural Kitchen Adventures

Leave a Reply

