Rainbow Mackerel Salad

Red and Yellow and Pink and Green, Purple and Orange and Blue…

Rainbow Mackerel Salad

Today’s post is my very first guest post – from my friend and colleague Natasha!

Hi all.  I work with Ceri and have done for quite a few years now.  Ever since we met, I knew we’d get along well – mainly for our love of all things foodie- we can talk for hours about what we’re planning to cook that week, the merits of an avocado or our favourite restaurant.  It probably bores everyone else in the office, but we’re happy!  So, when Ceri asked if I wanted to write a guest post for her blog I jumped at the chance.

I’m not generally known for bringing healthy offerings in for colleagues – I’ve got a ridiculously sweet tooth and like to bake cookies, cheesecakes and anything pudding based… most of which would definitely not make it onto this blog!

However, I do try to eat a balanced diet (most of the time) and eat as healthily as I can at lunchtimes.  So, when we had the idea to have an office BYO lunch, based on the amazing salads at our local deli in King’s Cross- Niven’s  on Kings Cross Road (totally worth a visit if you’re in the area), I thought I’d try to make something that didn’t have chocolate as its key ingredient.

The premise was to make a salad for under £5, to feed 4-5 people, bearing in mind that one of my colleagues is a vegetarian and of course, trying to use some of the Paleo principles that Ceri had told me about.   Hence, I thought a mackerel salad would work well (keeping the fish separate until dishing up so that it could still be a veggie option).  I’m a firm believer that the contents of your plate should include as many colours as possible – it not only looks more appetizing but it’s gotta be healthier than a plate of chips- so here’s my ‘rainbow’ mackerel salad recipe:

Ingredients (serves 4-5)

For the salad:

  • 3 fillets of smoked mackerel (I used lemon and parsley flavoured fillets)
  • Handful of different coloured cherry tomatoes, halved
  • Floret of broccoli
  • Orange, peeled
  • Bag of mixed greens- I used spinach, ruby chard and rocket
  • Half a cucumber, de seeded

For the dressing:

  • 1tbsp white wine vinegar
  • 1 tsp English mustard
  • 2 tbsp extra-virgin olive oil
  • Squeeze of orange juice
  • Pepper for seasoning

Living salad to garnish (I used alfalfa sprouts which taste a bit like cress)

Method

  • Easy- just chop all the ingredients as you like- I de seeded and batoned the cucumber, cut the orange into thin slices and halved the tomatoes.  Different sizes and textures make the salad look prettier I think! Mix together in a large bowl.
  • Quickly blanch the broccoli in boiling water for 2 mins and drain in cold water. Leave to cool and then mix with other ingredients and season well with pepper.
  • Meanwhile, combine all the dressing ingredients in a screw-top jam jar- close and shake.
  • When you’re ready to serve the salad, flake the mackerel fillets up, mix with the green salad and then drizzle the dressing over the top.   Garnish with living salad and serve.

You could mix it up a bit by adding radishes, pepper, pomegranate seeds or my current favourite- roasted beetroot.

Here’s a pic of some of the amazing other dishes we had, including a feta, raisin and beetroot salad, curried mango, pea and chickpea salad, and Ceri’s tabbouleh (recipe to follow)

Beetroot & Feta, Tabbouleh, Curried Pea & Mango, Rainbow Mackerel

We’re hoping to make this a monthly get-together, so I’m sure there’ll be many more lunchy posts to follow…

One thought on “Rainbow Mackerel Salad

  1. Pingback: Tabbouleh | Cucina Ceri

Leave a Reply

