College of Naturopathic Medicine

Since I’ve mentioned in a few posts over the last few months that I have been completing a nutrition course, and now I have a certificate to prove it I thought I should tell you a little more about it!

I decided to study nutrition for a number of reasons.  Firstly – since I started writing this blog and indeed over the last few years as my diet has changed I have become completely fascinated with anything to do with nutrition.  I read and absorb as much nutrition info as I can get my hands on – and thought it was high time I treated myself to some me-time once a week to officially indulge in my interests further.  I also hoped that everything I learnt would be put into practice through my recipes.  You may now see a lot more green & fresh herbs in my main dishes – there is a reason for that!

The course I took was called ‘Nutrition for Everyday Living‘ and I studied for this at the College of Naturopathic Medicine (or CNM for short).  I took the course at their London college but they do have colleges around the UK.  It’s just a short 12 week course, which consists of 12 evening lectures covering a range of subjects, finishing off with a short exam – Yes an exam!!!

The course lectures covered the following broad topics; Food and health, vitamins and minerals, a balanced diet – balanced you, living foods, anti-ageing, organic vs non-organic, detoxing, caring for your kids, food allergies and intolerances, hormone friendly diet.

With just 2.5 hours per week this was no where long or detailed enough for me to become an expert in these areas, but I learnt so much! I now have a basic level of knowledge about the subjects above – and topics such as vitamins and minerals, which had always confused me slightly (the whole science thing) have become much clearer.   It has been really fantastic to ground my knowledge and feel like I can properly back-up some of the things I talk about on a daily basis.  I.e. why kale is the best food ever.

I had a few initial reservations about the course – firstly it’s been a loooong time since I studied for anything – could my brain handle it?  More worryingly whilst I always enjoyed school and did pretty well there I had a hatred for science  – particularly biology, and biology and nutrition are pretty interlinked.  Thinking back this hatred could have largely been due to my totally uninspiring verging on weird teacher… I needn’t have worried about either of these aspects – When you are 30 and decide to voluntarily sign up for a course because you are fascinated by what you will learn, your brain can more than handle it.  Plus the teaching was inspiring from start to finish.  I don’t think there is anything about naturopathy our lovely lecturer nutritionist Zoe Palmer-Wright doesn’t know!

So what now?  Well… CNM do offer diploma courses which a couple of my friends are studying on – I am very tempted, but it would be a big time commitment to attend lectures, complete assignments,  general swotting up, as well as keeping up a full-time job and writing this blog.  I may need to hold that thought for just a while  – but for now at least I am a proud holder of a Certificate of Introductory Nutrition – yipee!! (and I got 85% in the exam – show off!!)

If you’re just a teeny bit interested in nutrition, and want to learn a little more – I couldn’t recommend this course enough.   For more information do check out the CNM Website.

 

4 thoughts on “College of Naturopathic Medicine

  1. Pingback: Raspberry Kefir Ice-Cream | Cucina Ceri

  2. Pingback: College Of Naturopathic Medicine UK :: Nutrition Acupuncture Homeopathy Herbalism Naturopathy

  3. Pingback: Raw Food Course in London: Review | Cucina Ceri

  4. Pingback: ‘Cooking for Health’ at the College of Naturopathic Medicine – Part 1 | Cucina Ceri

Leave a Reply

