Raw Chocolate, Fig & Ginger Truffles

A healthy(er) way to enjoy a little Chocolate treat

Since it is National Chocolate Week  I have decide to amend the posts I had planned to publish this week and include yet another chocolate recipe in celebration!  Best of all, this chocolate treat is a perfectly paleo way to enjoy chocolate.

I LOVE chocolate .  I think that will be no surprise to anyone that knows the real-life me, or any of my blog readers since  chocolate recipes appear frequently on the blog.  Along with courgette (weirdly!) it has the most ingredient tags on the blog…

Chocolate in its purest form really shouldn’t be labelled as unhealthy – it is after all derived from a plant source – a natural cacao bean.  It is the commercial global chocolate industry that has bastardised chocolate into a tooth-cavity- muffin-top inducing product, by adding cheap sugar, milk and other weird chemical ingredients and stabilisers to extend its shelf life and make a larger profit. Have you ever tried that cheap milk chocolate that comes in those 99p advent calendars?  Total ming, reminds me of soapy washing up liquid in taste. It doesn’t even taste like chocolate. OK… I will get off my high chocolate horse in a sec.

Pure natural raw cacao on the other hand is full of powerful antioxidants – and can proclaim ‘superfood’ status.  Raw cacao is ground from cocoa beans that haven’t yet been roasted, preserving the nutrients.  Natural = paleo so hurrah! I like to buy this one from Choc Chick.  If I haven’t had time to order this from the internet I will use a high quality organic unsweetened cocoa powder instead (which has been roasted before being ground).   It isn’t quite the same in terms of its antioxidant and potent hit – if you’ve tasted raw cacao you will understand what I mean – However it is still a billion times better than using cheap supermarket cocoa powder…

Anyway…. I had a few friends over for dinner last week (fellow fit bloggers – Adura  and Vickii – do check their blogs out – though Vickii’s blog is all about cake – don’t let that put you off 😉 ) and wanted to serve up something healthy but indulgent for dessert.  I didn’t have much time to prepare anything, so thought I’d make up some Raw Brownies.  However when I was scouring a shop for some dates I got side-tracked by a packed of dried figs and wondered if they would work in my trusted recipe instead?  Perhaps a slightly different texture and taste?  Some hours later as I was whizzing everything up in my food processor I also decided to throw in some freshly grated ginger, just because I thought it would work well in this combo – It did!  I am sure I have seen ginger and fig somewhere together before?

In the end instead of making this into a square brownie slab I rolled the mix into little truffle-like balls.  These were perfect for us to pick at whilst watching a movie (rather embarrassingly us 3, 30yr olds were watching Disney’s Beauty and the Beast…)

The only disadvantage of this recipe is that the chocolate balls are difficult to photograph  – they end up looking like little pellets of poo….

Ingredients (makes 16)

  • 100g walnuts
  • 75g dried figs
  • 25g dates (I used Halawi)
  • 1.5 tablespoons of unsweetened 100 % cocoa powder / raw cacao powder
  • 1 tablespoon freshly grated ginger
  • 1/2 tablespoon melted coconut oil

Method

  • Whizz the walnuts in a food processor until they resemble a chunky dust…  Remove from the processor and set aside.
  • Put the figs and dates into the food processor, and pulse until it comes together into a dough. Prod it a bit so that it separates around the bottom of the processor bowl – that way you can incorporate the walnuts easier.
  • Add the walnut dust, cocoa powder and fresh ginger back into the food processor, along with the melted coconut oil.  The coconut oil isn’t necessary it just helps the truffles to set.  Pulse again, until the entire mixture is incorporated and a ball of dough is formed.
  • Remove from the processor, then in the palm of your hand roll chunks of the dough into 16 little balls.
  • Place on some parchment paper and leave in the fridge to set for at least 30 mins.

NB – Strictly speaking this recipe can only be authentically labelled as RAW if you use raw cacao powder…

7 thoughts on “Raw Chocolate, Fig & Ginger Truffles

  1. Pingback: A Chocolate Masterclass with Paul A Young | The Botanical Baker

  2. Vickii

    These were amazing Ceri! So it’s not normally figs in the recipe – I think the figs were a huge success! I love what they added in terms of taste and texture!
    I have to say your recipes are the best advertisement for Paleo that I’ve ever come across as they’re all so yummy! I never thought I would have enjoyed a Paleo dinner as much as I did the one you cooked for us!

    Reply
    1. Ceri @CucinaCeri Post author

      Thanks so much Vickii – in case anyone is wondering I didn’t pay Vickii to write such a lovely comment – she’s just that nice. You can be a guest again chez Cucina Ceri for sure!!

      Reply
  3. Pingback: Top 5 alternatives to a Milk Chocolate Advent Calendar | Cucina Ceri

  4. Pingback: Pop-up Paleo & Gluten Free Afternoon Tea: My Reflections | Natural Kitchen Adventures

Leave a Reply

