Avocado Bread

A Moist, Gluten-Free & Paleo Bread Recipe 

I have been making this recipe on a regular basis since I first posted it in June 2011, just a month after I started blogging.  It’s seen some experimentation in that time.  I’ve tried more/less eggs, coconut flour instead of ground almonds, adding herbs and removing/re-introducing the raising agent.  The regular recipe I’m happy with is in fact not much different from the original – it just works!  Simple is best.

The reason I use ground almonds and ground flax in this recipe instead of conventional flours, is because as well as being naturally gluten free they are ingredients that have not undergone mass processing.  Ground almonds and ground flax are simply flours created by grounding whole almonds and flaxseeds (sometimes known as linseed).  This means that they are easier for the body to digest and don’t cause bloating like gluten & wheat flours can.

I probably make a batch of this recipe once a month.  It yields 4 mini loaves, so I have it around once per week.  The loaves can be easily stored in the freezer till I’m ready to whip one out, leave to defrost overnight, and pack up in my gym bag to eat when I get to work for breakfast. It always keeps me full till lunchtime!  Those who like to eat a bit more for breakfast can always add an extra bit of smoked salmon or scrambled eggs on top.

Good fats from the avocado, olive oil and seeds.  Protein from the eggs and almonds, and finally a little good carbs from the almonds and avocado – all bound up in a little portable loaf.

As a bit of fun my friend and fellow blogger Adura filmed a tutorial on how to make this dish… Enjoy!

Adura has lots of recipe vlogs on her Blog. As a Nigerian expat I learn lots of Nigerian cooking tips from her (remember the plantain chips …)

Full instructions & quantities for recipe below…

Ingredients (makes 4 mini loaves – 1 per serving)

  • 1.5 large ripe avocados (Hass type used here)
  • 3 eggs
  • 1/3 cup or 75mls olive oil
  • 1 cup or 100g ground almonds
  • 1/2 cup or 75g ground flaxseed
  • Black pepper and Himalayan salt
  • Mixed seeds to top (pumpkin, sunflower, sesame etc)

Method 

  • Pre-heat oven to 180 degrees C (fan oven).
  • Put the Avocado, eggs and olive oil in a blender and blend until completely smooth (preferably with a blender/hand-blender).
  • In a mixing bowl combine the dry ingredients, then pour in the avocado mix. Combine till smooth.
  • Use a tsp of olive oil across the 4 mini loaf trays to grease.  Then spoon in the mixture, and finally sprinkle with the seeds.
  • Bake in the centre of the oven for 35 minutes.
  • Cool on a rack.

This is the last post from me for a bit as I’m off on a cooking holiday in Devon this weekend.  Full report on my return!

29 thoughts on “Avocado Bread

  1. Kelly Chee

    interesting, first I have heard of avocado bread – think I will have to give this a try and give my monthly banana bread fix a break. I will let you know how it goes 🙂

    Reply
    1. Ceri @CucinaCeri Post author

      Thanks Kelly. Neither had I before I stumbled upon it last year – It is one of my favourite recipes so please do have a go and more importantly let me know how it turns out! It’s definitely a savoury affair so don’t expect to have the same hit as banana bread!

      Reply
      1. Ian

        These turned out great, a real simple easy to follow recipe. I finally have a bread alternative!!! Thanks.
        Also managed to use the left over almond mash from my almond milk experiment, I love recycling…

  2. renkat

    I made the dough and then realized I don’t own a mini loaf pan. I used a muffin pan instead (made 12 muffins). My teenager asked me if I was trying to sneak vegetables into muffins and I promised him it was fruit. “Not bad.” was his conclusion. He ate two of them – despite them being part of my “paleo-thing”. That is very high praise!

    Reply
    1. Ceri @CucinaCeri Post author

      Excellent news that your son liked them – you too(!), also that you free-styled with the muffin pan. I have also made this as mini muffins and a whole loaf before – you just need to adjust the cooking time to suit. Thanks for taking the time to feedback much appreciated Ren

      Reply
  3. Pingback: Guilt-Free Desserts… with Avocados « Oh Snap! Let's Eat!

  4. Pingback: Guilt-Free Desserts… with Avocados! | Oh Snap! Let's Eat!

  5. Lisa

    Hi Ceri, can you suggest an alternative to flax seeds. I am currently living in the Middle East and am struggling to find them.
    Lisa 🙂

    Reply
    1. Ceri @CucinaCeri Post author

      Hi Lisa
      I’m wondering if they may be available by their other name – Linseeds? You can buy them whole and then ground them. Failing that you could add more almonds, or try another flour but you would have to play around with the quantities since Flax acts as a binder! Thanks for stopping by.

      Reply
  6. Rae

    Ceri,

    Have you heard of this turning out with a fishy small and/or taste? I tried another avocado bread recipe but it was very similar to yours and it turned out beautiful except for a fish taste/smell. It rose well, and was moist. I’ll try your recipe next time, but thought I would check with you about this as well.

    Thanks, Rae

    Reply
    1. Ceri @CucinaCeri Post author

      Hi Rae, thanks for stopping by. I have never had an avocado bread turn out fishy – or heard anything like it! Make sure you use good avocados that are nice and ripe – but not too ripe they’ve gone brown inside. Also that your flax (was that in the other recipe?) Hasn’t been hanging around too long either! Would love to hear how this goes.

      Reply
  7. Pingback: Avocadobrot » Schlichte Gerichte

  8. Pingback: Pop-up Paleo & Gluten Free Afternoon Tea: My Reflections | Natural Kitchen Adventures

  9. Pingback: The 30 day challenge – A Recipe for Success | Momentum Training

  10. Mary

    Hi… I’ve just made your avocado bread…. Just wondering I only used 1 large avocado, so think this is the reason, but the bread turned out very nutty and really didn’t taste of avocado. If I did use the correct amount would it have tasted more avocadie and is it meant to be nutty?
    Thanks

    Reply
    1. Ceri @Natural Kitchen Adventures Post author

      Hi Mary. Unbelievably avocado actually doesn’t have much of a strong flavour. The creamyness & texture is its selling point (that’s why it is used instead of cream in puddings sometimes). It may vary with the type of avocado you use though. There are a lot of nuts in the recipe so yes it will taste nutty! Did the texture work OK? Thanks for trying out the recipe!

      Reply
      1. Mary

        Thank you for responding to my comment… It was very yummy and I will be making it again.. next time though I will use a different type of avocado.

    1. Ceri @Natural Kitchen Adventures Post author

      Hi Cas, You can use coconut flour in this recipe but because of coconut flour’s unique properties you can’t swap like for like in weight. Coconut flour is generally used as just 30% of what you’re subbing it for – and then you need to add more liquid (eggs, oil etc) – it would be an experiment but yes it would work!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

