Lemon & Mint Baked Chicken Pieces

Oh for it to still be Summer…  

Lemon & Mint Baked Chicken Pieces

This is a stunningly easy dish, and very quick for a mid-week supper.   It would be perfect for a summer evening with a crisp salad.  I’m aware its now Autumn – I bought a Winter coat this week.  However you could still make this any time of year and enjoy the fresh beautiful flavours.  I guess I’m just trying to cover up the fact I’m a bit behind with some of my seasonal blog posts (other than Halloween which I got out on time!)

Good quality chicken speaks for itself. Always buy the best you can afford. It’s for this reason I tend to choose the thighs and drumsticks over the pricier breast cuts since they allow me to buy free-range.   In any case I think the leg cuts  are tastier – the meat around the bone is far succulent and you also get to eat the skin – Happy days!   On my recent cooking course I learnt how to joint a whole chicken into pieces – I can’t wait to given that a go.  I wonder if my pieces will look as neat as these…

This dish can be served alongside any one of my suggested side dishes, a big mixed salad, steamed veg, roasted root veg, mash or sweet potato wedges.  I threw this together for a quick work lunch shared picnic, as the chicken holds onto the lemony flavour when served cold.   The flavours are fresh and simple and the lemony tangy really cuts through.

Ingredients (serves 4 as a main)

  • 8-10  free-range chicken pieces (a mix of drumsticks and thighs)
  • 1 tablespoon extra-virgin olive oil
  • Salt, pepper
  • 1 lemon, cut into wedges + juice of half an additional lemon
  • Handful of fresh mint, shredded

Method 

  • Pre-heat oven to 180 degrees C.
  • Combine the chicken pieces with the olive oil, seasoning, and juice of half a lemon.  Mix well.
  • Place in a large casserole dish and nestle in the lemon wedges.  Scatter the fresh herbs over the top.
  • Bake in the oven for 35 minutes, or until golden brown.  Serve in the pot with the juices, and if desired an extra handful of fresh herbs.
  • If keeping the dish to be eaten the next day remove the pieces from the dish (you don’t want them to sit and go cold in their own fat) and cool before refrigerating.

I’m really pleased with this photograph – the benefits of cooking during the day in August when the light is good! I felt like a bit of a idiot photographing the dish outside my front door – but I don’t have a garden so needs must!

2 thoughts on “Lemon & Mint Baked Chicken Pieces

  1. Lesley

    Ceri this may be a daft question, but do you cover the chicken in the oven with a lid or foil or cook in an open dish?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

