Coconut Flour Pancakes

Bacon or Blueberries? You Decide…

Coconut Flour Pancakes with Bacon

Coconut Flour Pancakes with Blueberries

If I were to be asked if I wanted Paleo & Gluten-free Pancakes for a weekend brunch treat – the answer would be a foregone conclusion – Hell yeah!!!  The only thing left for me to decide would be whether I wanted them topped with bacon or blueberries (or both…)

There are many ways to make ‘Paleo’ pancakes – most involve either coconut flour, ground almonds, or ground flax for the flour base.  The liquid component is then often coconut milk (which also adds a bit of fat to keep things together) and finally eggs! I’ve also seen versions made with banana, plantain or pumpkin.

I have lost count of the amount of times I’ve made pancakes for brunch before now and not made a note of the quantities since you don’t really need a recipe for this  – it’s best to ‘feel’ your way through.  I’ve generally found that if you take a bowl, crack in the eggs, add in the flour, and then mess around with a little more liquid here, and so forth you can get the perfect desired consistency for the batter. The ideal consistency is thick like an American-style pancake rather than a thin & flippy Shrove Tuesday one.  Since a friend of mine recently, asked me how I made these I decided it was high time I made a note of the quantities – armed with my kitchen notepad and pencil I took on the challenge.

Here is the NKA guide for 2 variations of weekend brunch pancakes.

Ingredients (serves 2-3, makes approx 8 american style pancakes)

  • 4 free-range eggs
  • 6 Tablespoons of Coconut Flour
  • 8 Tablespoons of Coconut Milk (canned)
  • tsp ginger, tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp Stevia liquid / 2tsps of Organic Raw Honey
  • Coconut oil to fry.
  • To serve:  Handful blueberries, stevia/honey sweetened coconut milk, dusted with cinnamon / crispy free-range bacon, maple syrup + a dusting of cinnamon.

Method

  • Crack the eggs into a pyrex jug / bowl and give them a quick whisk with a handheld whisk or fork.  Stir in the Coconut flour, and whisk again till all the lumps of flour have dissolved.
  • Add the coconut milk until the right consistency is formed.  You want quite a thick batter, but  one that is pourable.
  • At this point add whatever flavouring you  like.  I added 1/2 tsp liquid stevia for a non-insulin spiking sweetness (more to follow on stevia in a forthcoming post).  You could also add a touch of raw/organic honey or Maple Syrup.  I also added powdered ginger and cinnamon.  Both add great flavour, and a no-sugar natural sweetness.
  • Head a good tsp of coconut oil in a large non-stick frying pan, and tilt the pan so it covers the surface.  Pour the batter into the pan – the pancakes should be roughly a diameter of 10cm.   You will probably only be able to cook 2-3 at a time!   Once the underside is browned use a fish slice or large spatula to flip them over.  Don’t try to move them before the underside is cooked or you will end up with scrambled pancakes!
  • When done slide off on to a plate and keep warm (in oven for example) till all are ready.  You may need to add a little extra oil to the pan.  You really don’t want them to stick!
  • Serve as desired – these are just 2 of the ways I have enjoyed them recently.
4 thoughts on “Coconut Flour Pancakes

  1. Vickii

    Ceri! These look amazing! And I love coconut flour and coconut milk so I’m sure they taste just as good. Only one question, why do you have to choose? I like my pancakes topped with fruit, with a side of bacon and sausages and maple syrup drizzled over all! good thing I don’t have them very often innit? ;p

    Reply
    1. Ceri @CucinaCeri Post author

      Thanks Vickii – good point. In Copenhagen I once had a brunch plate that had pancakes, bacon, blueberries + Maple syrup on – the sweet and savoury combo is a good one – if slightly indulgent 🙂

      Reply
  2. Pingback: A Paleo Breakfast: 2-Ingredient Pancakes « Oh Snap! Let's Eat!

  3. Pingback: A Paleo Breakfast: 2-Ingredient Pancakes | Oh Snap! Let's Eat!

Leave a Reply

