Twice Baked Sweet Potato

“Atishoo!!!” Cold Fighting Naturopathic Recipe to the Rescue

and it isn’t Chicken Soup

Twice Baked Sweet Potato

Twice Baked Sweet Potato

This week – like the rest of the population of London it seems – I have had a bad cold.

The severity of my trival ailment [insert ailment of choice: cold, cough, flu, sore throat] can usually be established by some key indicators; my eats of choice, whether my cooking mojo has gone AWOL and whether I choose to treat my ailments naturopathically or by modern medicine.  Having absorbed so much nutritional info over the last few years I know what I should be doing to fight off infection – having a super healthy home-cooked nourishing diet full of antioxidants, immune boosting and antibiotic food sources (aka superfoods).

However, if truth be told knowledge and action are often not quite the same thing…  Earlier this year for example when I had flu I washed down my Sudafed with rye toast, ice-cream and chocolate for three days plus two lone ready-meal vegetable pots as I felt guilty about all of the above and the lack of vegetables in my diet… *Sigh*.

This week thankfully, I know I can’t have been that ill.  Although I have moaned a lot (but not as much as your average man I hasten to add), I have found the will to fight it naturally, eaten healthily and maintained some light form of exercise.  So what to eat in times of severe cold? Since dairy encourages mucus production, and sugar and caffeine should take a back seat when fighting an infection I’ve avoided them (minus my 1-daily cup of coffee).  For a tip top nourishing recipe I hauled out my nutrition notes, and came up with the following super cold fighting and immune boosting ingredients to base a recipe on.

Garlic is the superstar of this recipe boasting antiviral and antibiotic functions.  Ginger, sweet potato and parsley are immune boosting.  Other than adding great flavour cumin and cinnamon are also proven to assist with healing symptoms of the common cold.

Twice Baked Sweet Potato with Lamb Chop & Salad

Twice Baked Sweet Potato with Lamb Chop & Salad

In addition to cooking these super ingredients I’ve also been swallowing garlic by the clove load (vampires beware), and dosing up on lemon & ginger steepers.  When my throat was sore earlier in the week I even gargled with salt water (a great antiseptic trick that is also great for sore wisdom teeth) and had a few honey teas.  There is a great recipe here on The Nourishing Gourmet for a medicinal tea.

Even if you aren’t fighting a cold give this recipe a try – it was delicious – even the cold leftovers which I packed up in my work lunchbox (yes I have still been to work).

Ingredients (serves 2)

  • 1 large sweet potato – rugby ball shape ideal, scrubbed clean if you want to eat the skin
  • Coconut oil
  • Maldon salt (or sea salt, Himalayan salt etc)
  • 1 clove of garlic, minced
  • 1/2 tablespoon of freshly grated ginger
  • 1 tsp of cumin
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • black pepper
  • fresh parsley and toasted pine nuts to garnish

Method

  • Pre-heat oven to 200 degrees C.  Prick the potato a number of times with a fork, then cut in half lengthways.  Place flesh side down on a greased (with coconut oil) baking tray.  Sprinkle with salt and oven roast until crispy on the outside, soft on the inside.  Since my potato was so huge it took 1hr 20
  • Remove from the oven, and scoop out the flesh from the skins, mash the flesh with the garlic, ginger, cumin, cinnamon, a pinch of salt and black pepper.
  • Spoon the flesh back into the skins, and place back in the oven, face up, for a further 10-15 minutes.
  • Remove, sprinkle with garnish and serve alongside a green salad and protein of choice (minted lamb chops for me!)
Twice Baked Sweet Potato with Lamb and Salad

Twice Baked Sweet Potato with Lamb and Salad

2 thoughts on “Twice Baked Sweet Potato

Leave a Reply

