Sweet Potato & Almond Rostis

“Can you just chop the garlic?”

Sweet Potato & Almond Rostis

Sweet Potato & Almond Rostis

I love it when I have material for a new blog post without having spent time researching, planning, shopping, cooking, photographing, editing and cleaning up my own kitchen.

When I turned up at my friends house for dinner a few weeks ago little did I know that I would be roped into assisting with the cooking – who am I kidding, I didn’t need roping in, I practically took over this dish quicker than you can say “Ceri, can you just chop the garlic?”, but from a little bit of working for my supper I’ve ended up with a gorgeous recipe for the blog, and even an instagram photo…

My friend had found a recipe for ‘sweet potato & peanut rostis’ in his weekly veg box, and this was the perfect excuse to give it a go.  We subbed the peanut butter for friendlier almond butter, used wheat-free Tamari sauce instead of soy, and coconut flour instead of conventional flour.  Proof if you needed it that it is totally possible to adapt any recipe!

Due to my slight case of verbal diarrhoea I didn’t pay 100% attention to the recipe  – I left out the chilli from the rostis, then put the flour in the rostis rather than as a dusted coating.  Luckily it didn’t make a blind bit of difference and the rostis were a hit.

Excellent served with a home made raita, or yoghurt dip.  Followed by lamb curry for main, and paleo carrot cake for pudding.  A very yummy enjoyable evening. Thanks guys!

Ingredients (makes 12 rostis)

Adapted from Abel & Cole:

  • 2 sweet potatos, peeled, cut in half
  • 2 garlic cloves finely chopped
  • 2cm piece of ginger, peeled and grated
  • 2 tsp lime zest
  • 2 tablespoons Tamari (wheat free soy sauce)
  • A handful of fresh coriander and mint, shredded
  • sea salt and black pepper
  • 2 tablespoons almond butter
  • 2 Tablespoons coconut flour
  • Olive oil
  • 1 chili – deseeded and diced.

Method

  • Par-boil the sweet potatoes for 5 mins, drain and cool
  • Grate the potatoes into a bowl, add the garlic, ginger, lime zest, tamari, fresh herbs (reserving some for decoration), seasoning, almond butter and coconut flour. Mix well
  • Heat some olive oil to coat a large frying pan, when sufficiently hot, take a dessert-spoonful of the mix, and dollop into the frying pan.  Repeat the process till the pan is full up (recipe makes 12 rostis). Fry until golden on one side, flip over.
  • When cooked pile up on a serving plate, with additional fresh herbs and the chilli for decoration.  Can be eaten warm or cold.
2 thoughts on “Sweet Potato & Almond Rostis

Leave a Reply

