Slow Cooked Beef & Root Vegetable Stew

Wisely and slow, they stumble that run fast 

Slow Cooked Beef & Root Vegetable Stew

Above quote is from Shakespeare’s Romeo and Juliet and is a favourite quote of mine.  Friar Tuck warning Romeo against being hasty with love. The same mantra can be transferred to food right?  Well, not necessarily always, I’m not sure you’d want to cook the ultimate hasty food of scrambled eggs for 8 hours…

Anyway I digress… So hoorah, my new slow cooker made its debut meal in my kitchen on 2nd January.  Not bad going for a new year’s resolution of mine.  I’ve had my eye on a slow cooker for a long time, but as I don’t have a car buying anything larger than a potato seems to fill me with such a sense of impending doom I put it off for as long as is possible.

Long story short I had a hire car over the Christmas holidays so managed to squeeze in a trip to the supermarket for my ‘larger than potato’ supplies and happened upon a huge 6.5ltr slow cooker on half price.  I’ll have me one of those.

Today’s first attempt at a paleo slow cooker recipe is a bit of a free styled stew based upon the contents of my cupboard and freezer.  I decided to make it a fairly simple affair with the flavourings – not that it mattered – good quality ingredients speak for themselves.  It was absolutely delicious – the meat so unbelievably tender and the sweet root veg helping with my nosugarjanuary carb cravings.  Plus, as four portions were made I’ll have plenty of food to keep me going over the next few days as I return to work.

Ingredients (serves 4)

  • Olive oil
  • 450g of chuck steak (or other stewing cut), diced into bite sized pieces
  • 1 onion, finely diced
  • 1 leek, sliced
  • 1 medium swede, diced
  • 2 carrots, sliced
  • 1 parsnip, diced
  • 2 small sweet potatoes, diced
  • 1/2 pint bone marrow stock (or other home made stock)
  • Good sprinkling of dried mixed herbs and extra oregano
  • Tablespoon of coriander seeds
  • Seasoning
  • 165mls of coconut milk

Method

  • Brown off the meat, and onion in a little olive oil in a large pan
  • Transfer to slow cooker, add the vegetables, stock, enough water to cover, the herbs and coriander seeds and stir.
  • Season, add lid, and cook for approx 8 hours.
  • Just before serving, stir in the coconut milk.  This is optional but I fancied a creamier sauce.
4 thoughts on “Slow Cooked Beef & Root Vegetable Stew

  1. Gary Conway

    That’s a neat idea to add the coconut milk. I’ve never thought of doing that with stews. Slow cookers are really handy for work lunches. I find some weeks I’m cooking separate lunches and dinners every day and it can get too much.

    Reply
    1. Ceri @CucinaCeri Post author

      Added a nice creaminess to the sauce and thickened it a bit. I’m already loving the ease of the slow cooker – I can see me cooking up a big stew for work lunches a few times per week!

      Reply
  2. Kelly Chee

    Happy New Year Ceri! We have a slow cooker and we use it once a year (bad!) so our aim is to use it more often this year too. We started the year off with 8 hrs pulled pork – highly recommended!

    Reply
    1. Ceri @CucinaCeri Post author

      Happy New Year Kelly! I’m definitely going for pulled pork next. I hope I continue to use it as much as I hope for. Leaving it out on the kitchen counter might help..

      Reply

Leave a Reply

