Parma Ham Wrapped Lamb Sausages

New ways with lamb 

paleo lamb mince sausages

Parma ham wrapped lamb sausages

Lamb mince in the freezer.  Brain struggling to work out what to do with it.  Already conquered meatballs, burgers, moussaka, and if I cook one more dish from that Ottolenghi cookbook I will start to sound like a broken record.  I need inspiration.

This time I turned to the BBC Food website.  The website has gazillions of recipes mostly written by TV chefs ranging from the simple to the ridiculous.  The best thing about the website is that  you can search by ingredient – so by typing in lamb mince about 10 exciting ideas popped up.  I wavered between stuffed vine leaves and prosciutto wrapped sausages.  Most of this wavering was done staring at a way-bigger-than-the-recipe-required packet of vine leaves in my local Turkish shop.  I think the size of the packet made the decision for me, and I opted for sausages.  Now I’m giggling about the word packet and sausage in one sentence, sorry – I’ve just finished reading the comedian Michael McIntyre’s hilarious and heart warming biography and it is clearly having an effect on my prose.

paleo lamb sausages

Parma ham wrapped lamb sausages

Naturally there were some artistic and paleo adaptations to be made to the original recipe – for me that’s the fun mathematical equation part (I did A-level maths would you believe – passed it too). I subbed processed heavy breadcrumbs for coconut flour, used dried chilli instead of fresh, and coriander instead of parsley.  I served mine with a myriad of green veg that was found lurking in my fridge –   Spinach with blanched mange tout, spring onions, a little fennel – then dressed with olive oil, lemon juice and grainy mustard.

I got a bit excited when these came out of the oven – the ham had crisped up a treat, the spices giving off a wonderful aroma.  A new lamb dish for my recipe repertoire has been found.

paleo lamb mince sausages

Parma ham wrapped lamb sausages with green salad

Adapted from Tana Ramsay’s recipe on BBC Food

Ingredients (makes 8 sausages, serves 2-3)

  • 400g organic lamb mince
  • 1 tbsp ground coriander 
  • 2 tbsp ground cumin 
  • ½ onion, finely chopped
  • Small handful of finely chopped coriander leaf
  • Pinch dried chilli flakes 
  • Seasoning 
  • 1 tablespoon coconut flour (I use tiana). You could also use ground almonds or leave out altogether – it helps with the binding. 
  • 1 free-range egg, beaten
  • 8 Parma ham or prosciutto slices (or other cured meat would also work)

Method

  • Pre-heat oven to 170 C (fan).
  • Place the lamb mince in a bowl and break up with a fork.  Add the coriander, cumin, onion, coriander leaf, chill, seasoning, coconut flour and beaten egg.  Combine with the fork then using your hands bring the meat together and pile up on a chopping board.  
  • Divide the mixture into 8 and roll into sausages
  • Carefully take a piece of Parma ham and lay the sausage at one end, roll up the ham.
  • Place the sausages on a lined baking tray and bake in the oven for 25 minutes. They leaked out a lot of fat all over the tray so next time I might try cooking them on a grill grille above a baking tray.
4 thoughts on “Parma Ham Wrapped Lamb Sausages

    1. Ceri @CucinaCeri Post author

      Thanks Laura, Parma ham is fantastic – definitely special treat food (and yummy wrapping asparagus too!) I did wonder about mixing 2 meats in this recipe but they came out great. Enjoy your first taste!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

