Slow Cooker Whole Roast Chicken

Pure Simplicity 

Paleo chicken slow cooker crock pot

Slow Cooked Whole Chicken

Dump chicken in slow cooker, turn on, leave for the best part of 9 hours and then eat. Simples.

If this is so simple then why am I blogging the ‘recipe’ I hear you ask?  Well – after 3 months of owning a slow cooker, listening to a friend tell me this could be done, and reading about 10 recipes I still wasn’t convinced that chicken from a slow cooker could compare with an oven roasted chicken.  I am here to assure you it can.  I had previously imagined the chicken skin would end up wrinkly and gross – and what joy is cooking a whole roast chicken without crispy skin?

I researched many recipes before attempting this – and obsessively tried to work out exactly how long to leave the chicken in the cooker for.  There is lots of conflicting advice out there people!  I came across an idea to use tin foil to help raise the chicken off the bottom of the slow cooker so it doesn’t sog away in its own fat.  I rather liked that idea.  I also like the idea of Paleo Pot’s coriander & lime marinade so will maybe try that next time. 

My slow cooker chicken was superb.  Much to my surprise the skin was crispy and the meat beautifully tender with a truly pleasant aroma of lemon.   Even the breast meat which can often be dry was succulent right the way through.

The only downside I can think of was that as all the meat fell off the carcass incredibly easily, there was not a trace of meat left on the carcass when I came to make up stock from the remains.  The resulting stock had less of a meaty flavour, but was beautifully clear instead.   Though since you get more meat to eat with your roast in return its no bad thing!

I went for the leg first – my favourite bit – then used the leftovers for a cold salad for the next day at work.  I then bagged up the rest in portions and stuck them in the freezer for future meals – nothing like being organised with food to save time in future!  

slow cooker whole chicken paleo crock pot

Slow Cooker Chicken with steamed veggies

A perfect no-fuss, fool proof Sunday dinner cooked whilst I was out training for a 14 mile charity walk (which takes place this coming Sunday – wish me luck!)

Ingredients (serves 4-5 depending how hungry you are)

  • 1.8kg free-range / organic chicken (the best you can afford)
  • Celtic salt
  • Handful fresh rosemary
  • 1 lemon
  • Tin foil

Method

  • Chop or blend the rosemary and combine with the salt, rub all over the chicken skin.
  • Cut a lemon in half and stuff both parts inside the carcass.
  • Screw up 3 balls of tin foil and place in the bottom of the slow cooker (mine is 6.5 ltr size), place the chicken on top.
  • Cook on high for 1-1hr 30, then turn on low for 7.5-8 hours.
  • When ready gently remove the chicken from the slow cooker bit by bit – it will fall apart so there’s no use in trying to carve up the traditional way.  Cut into portioned pieces, reserving all the bones for stock and serve on a platter.
  • Put all the bones back in the slow cooker and cover with fresh filtered water on low for another 24 hours for some home-made chicken stock.
5 thoughts on “Slow Cooker Whole Roast Chicken

  1. jane dowle

    Ceri, I’ve been meaning to try cooking a chicken in my slow cooker for ages; a friend has already told me how brilliant the end result is. So, I now will definitely be trying this on Sunday. By the way, my slow cooker is probably the same age as you!

    Reply
  2. Ruth

    The skin… Goes CRISPY????? THIS. IS. A-MAZING. Have never tried it through fear of the skin going soggy. Couldn’t possibly risk that. Will now give it a shot. But what’s with the foil balls?

    Reply
    1. Ceri @CucinaCeri Post author

      Yes – not *quite* as crispy as the oven – but for no effort and for being able to go out all day without the fear of fire (and using less energy) it was well worth it. Foil balls elevate the chicken – you could try onions too I’m sure.

      Reply
  3. Pingback: How To Make Deep Fry Batter For Chicken | How To Bake

Leave a Reply

