Five Friday Favourites

The second instalment in my new weekly series where I simply mention 5 things I have loved or discovered in the past week.

No wordy introductions or a rambling post – just a simple list. I’ll do my best to keep it short.

raw cream

Raw Cream sprinkled with cinnamon, dessicated coconut and ground almonds

  1. Raw / unpasteurized cream from Hook & Son. Finally got round to trying this after months of hearing others sing its praises for its taste and digestibility (in comparison with processed cream). Wow. So thick and creamy and almost like clotted cream. Tasted amazing dolloped in a weekend coffee, and also served as an Easter Sunday treat alongside some dessicated coconut and cinnamon. I bought mine from my local Brockley Market, it is also available mail order or from Borough Market in London.
  2. Twinings Liquorice tea. I am loving drinking this right now, especially as a post-dinner tea. It’s so naturally sweet it takes away my desire to stuff my face with pudding! I don’t like actual liquorice so a pleasant surprise to really enjoy this.
  3. Coconut Manna. Currently on offer for almost half price in Planet Organic. This delicious butter is made purely from coconut flesh. I’ve some ideas up my sleeves for some sugar free truffles to make from it. Coming to a blog near you soon.
  4. Wasabi Wheatgrass Kale Chips by Inspiralled. I’m going to go bankrupt if I keep buying a tub of these each time I waltz through a health food shop…
  5. Lastly I finally treated myself to a new chopping knife from Sainbury’s. Really reasonable at £8. Why have I spent the last 5 years trying to slice onions with a blunt knife? Slicing carrots for a stew never felt so quick and easy !

See you next Friday!

9 thoughts on “Five Friday Favourites

  1. 76sanfermo

    Good list!
    I most appreciated the Coconut Manna. I wonder if I could find it in Italy,because I’ve never heard of it !
    Anyway I’m alerted now. Being allergic to lactose , I’m very curious about it and thank you for the piece of news!

    Reply
    1. Ceri @CucinaCeri Post author

      I am not sure whether you can find it in Italy – I know the company that makes it is in America (Nutiva) so it would definitely have to be imported. Sometimes it is called Coconut butter? But it is very different to the oil. I hope you can find it!

      Reply
  2. Adura O

    Nice new series 🙂

    Re: Liquorice tea, hmmm. Not sold on that… yet.

    Speaking of sharp knives, I’m scared of sharp slicing implements after my accident with the mandolin 😥

    Reply
    1. Ceri @CucinaCeri Post author

      Twinings is the best one I’ve tasted I promise !:)
      I’ve always been told sharper knives are safer than blunt ones – maybe you are the exception to the rule…

      Reply

Leave a Reply

