Paprika Squid with Tartare Sauce

Under the Sea

paleo Tartare sauce

Paprika Squid with Tartare Sauce

I’ve been making my own mayonnaise a lot recently.  Now that I’ve mastered the technique there is just no stopping me! This new found confidence in mayo making has lead me to wonder about all the other mayonnaise based sauces I’ve been missing out on all the years I’ve been dodging the vegetable oil shop bought jars.  Tartare sauce immediately sprung to mind, and since I have recently acquired some pickled gherkins and gotten over my aversion to dill (been present since a 1998 trip to Poland) I was all set.

There is a huge discrepancy on what or what shouldn’t be included in Tartare sauce.  I choose to add olives and parsley and threw in a preserved lemon instead of added lemon juice – do as you wish – it’s your Tartare!

paleo tartare

Squid dipped in Tartare Sauce

Tartare sauce is a great partner to any white fish and a pile of mushy peas but I fancied some squid rings to dip in it instead.  I asked the fishmonger to clean my squid for me to save spraying black squid ink all over my kitchen again and in doing so he butterflied the main body.  Squid rings were sadly an impossibility now (unless I could find any fish glue…) so instead I sliced them into some dipping strips.  Equally delish.

paleo squid calamari

Squid strips, not rings – courtesy of the fishmonger…

Ingredients (serves 2 as a starter, 1 as a main course)

Squid:

  • 1 medium-sized squid, cleaned and sliced into rings
  • 1/2 Tablespoon olive oil (garlic infused oil is lovely)
  • 1/4 juice of a lemon
  • pinch salt
  • 1/2 Tablespoon smoked paprika

Tartare Sauce:

  • 2 Tablespoons home made mayonnaise  (e.g one made from olive oil, egg yolks, lemon juice salt)
  • 1 Tablespoon chopped fresh dill
  • 1 Tablespoon chopped fresh parsley
  • 1 Tablespoon capers
  • 1.5 Tablespoons finely diced gherkins (choose a brand that isn’t pickled in sugar)
  • 4 green olives, finely diced
  • tsp grainy / dijon mustard
  • 1 preserved lemon, finely diced seeds removed
  • drizzle of garlic infused olive oil (optional)

Serve with a dressed green salad if serving as a main course

Method

  • First coat the squid with the oil, lemon, chilli and paprika and leave to marinate for as long as you have time for (30 mins to 2 hours ideal)
  • You can make up the sauce ahead of time.  Combine all the above ingredients in a small bowl and set aside.
  • When ready to cook, heat up a tsp of ghee (or coconut oil) in a griddle or frying pan.  When sizzling add the squid and cook for roughly 2-3 mins on each side until charred and the tentacles crispy.
  • Serve up the squid alongside the tartare sauce and salad on a serving platter

Notes:    I found reading this article helped with my mayo making technique – it even gives tips on how to rescue and reuse if the may splits.  Never will I throw away a split mayo again.  Just don’t follow the recipe on the article – use pure extra virgin olive oil instead.

in other news its my 2 year blogiversary today.  Happy blogiversary to me!!! I’ve come a long way since my first post!

3 thoughts on “Paprika Squid with Tartare Sauce

  1. meg

    Oh this looks like heaven! I would normally require aoili with squid but this tartare looks divine! Happy Blogiversary to you too!!!! xx

    Reply
    1. Ceri @Natural Kitchen Adventures Post author

      Hi Daisy,
      Thanks for dropping by, You can use soy – but I’d suggest using an alternative such as Tamari, coconut aminos because Soy has wheat and gluten in it – best avoided if possible. Tamari is a gluten free version of soy sauce and it tastes exactly the same! Thanks for the Honest Cooking info – Good luck cooking!!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

