Carob & Coconut Cashew Fudge

Nom nom nom 

Carob & Coconut Cashew Fudge

Carob & Coconut Cashew Fudge

The inspiration for this recipe comes straight from the Fitter Food recipe book.  When I first flicked through the fab new book, I drooled over this recipe, but subsequently put it out of my mind, thinking I’d save it for a special treat.  Then when Fitter Food posted the recipe up on their blog I was once again reminded how delicious yet simple it looked and decided to make a batch for a tea party at work.  No one even noticed that I’d used carob instead of cocoa and one person even said it was the best sweet I’d ever made.  Now that’s a statement.  Thanks Fitter Food!

I decided to make a few tweaks to the original recipe, but retained the method that Keris and Matt devised.  Firslty, instead of cocoa powder I opted for carob.  Carob can be used much like cocoa in cooking but is preferable for some because it contains no caffeine whatsoever.  Helpful if you’re trying to avoid caffeine, or are sensitive/intolerant to cocoa (a tragedy…).  It has a similar texture to cocoa and a rich dark taste.  There are 2 types of carob, roasted and un-roasted.  Previously I had been using a roasted version in my recipes – very dark brown in colour and a little bitter.  Nice but by no means a substitute in gorgeousness for real cocoa.  Recently I found 2 new brands of un-roasted carob (also labelled raw) from Detox Your World & Raw Living.   Lighter in colour, retaining more nutrients than the roasted version and beyond miles better in taste! My favourite of the two is from Detox Your World.  I’d definitely recommend this carob over any other brand.

The other benefit of carob is that it is naturally sweet so you can afford to reduce the sweetener (merely 2 tablespoons of honey anyway).  I replaced higher GI honey with just 1 tablespoon of Xylitol.  This makes my recipe suitable for diabetics (xylitol has a GI of only 7 – white table sugar is around 58-65), and anyone else reducing their sugar consumption (e.g Cancer patients, candida sufferers).

Ceri’s fudge Ingredients 

  • 1 Jar of cashew butter (170g)
  • 6 Tablespoons unroasted carob
  • 6 Tablespoons dessicated coconut
  • 1 Tablespoon Xylitol
  • 6 Tablespoons coconut oil, melted

For the original recipe & method I refer you to Fitter Food’s post:

Also tasty with a jar of hazlenut butter!

4 thoughts on “Carob & Coconut Cashew Fudge

Leave a Reply

