Blue & Parmesan Cheese Seeded Biscuits

Say Cheese

Blue & Parmesan Cheese Sesame Biscuits

Blue & Parmesan Cheese Seeded Biscuits

Having gobbled down some blue cheese on a weekend away with friends a while back (many of my friends seem to be obsessed with cheese – I can usually take it or leave it) I realised just how tasty blue cheese was. Salty, creamy and full of flavour. A great weekend treat to end a meal that isn’t a sugary dessert.

The blue cheese immediately triggered memory of a recipe I’d bookmarked from my Ashburton Cookery School notes. The school had kindly given me the notes from their gluten free day – which sadly no longer runs – to include some fab substitutions for things like pastry, biscuits and pasta we’d learnt on our week long course.  I amended their original recipe for ‘blue cheese and sesame biscuits’ slightly to include Parmesan since the chunk of blue cheese I had ready for the purpose wasn’t enough for the entire recipe. The Parmesan made a great addition.  These biscuits would make a fab addition to a platter of cold meats and crudités served before a meal or at friendly gathering.  

Feel free to mix up the cheese and experiment with different flavourings of herbs to complement the relevant cheese. I would say that the cheese needs to be fairly wet since there is no additional liquids in the mix. Hard cheese such as cheddar for example on its own wouldn’t work.  

I couldn’t believe how simple and quick these were to make and there are only 5 ingredients! No additives and no baking agents.  I don’t eat cheese very often so when I do like any other dairy product I try to source from the best place I can.  This delicious slab came from the Sourced Market at London’s St Pancras station. 

Blue & Parmesan Cheese Seeded Biscuits

Blue & Parmesan Cheese Seeded Biscuits

Ingredients Makes 8 small biscuits (recipe easily doubled)

  • 50g gram flour (chickpea flour)
  • 25g unsalted butter (pref grass fed e,g. kerrygold)
  • 25g blue cheese (I used Cornish blue).  Stilton or Gorgonzola would also work well. 
  • 5-10g grated Parmesan
  • 1 Tablespoon mixed seeds (Any combination of small seeds eg sesame, linseed, hemp)

Method

  • Break up the butter into chunks, and rub into the flour, till the texture is crumby.
  • Break up the blue cheese, and add into the crumbs along with the Parmesan, then mix the ingredients together (I find a swirling action round the bowl helps – as you would with pastry), till it comes together into a dough.  
  • Diving the dough into, 1/2 then 1/4s and 1/8ths to get even sized pieces.  Roll each piece into a small ball, then roll in the seeds.  Roll the ball in the seeds, then roll again in your hands so the seeds push into the dough.  Flatten into a disc and place on a lined baking tray.  Place the tray into the fridge for 20-30 mins to firm up.
  • Pre-heat the oven to 200 degrees C.
  • Cook the biscuits for 10 mins, when done place on a cooling rack.

… And yes I know that gram flour or blue cheese isn’t Paleo.  I am not bogged down with those rules, and since I strive to eat and blog simple recipes based around unprocessed foods I am happy for this awesome recipe to be featured. 

3 thoughts on “Blue & Parmesan Cheese Seeded Biscuits

  1. Pingback: Dark Chocolate Dipped Ginger Biscuits | Natural Kitchen Adventures

Leave a Reply

