Smokey Squash Frittata

Vegetarians at the ready!

Squash Frittata

Squash Frittata

I had a friend over for tea this week.  Gosh that sounds very Enid Blyton doesn’t it?   She’s a Vegetarian and I’m on the Whole 30.  We usually meet in a marriage of feta cheese and chickpeas, but with them both off the menu for me for now I was determined to cook a suitable meal for us both – and no sneaky portion of cheese for her or slab of meat on the side for me.  That’s cheating. 

Eggs – it had to be eggs right?  I really wanted to come up with something a little more exciting than eggs, but since the leftover roast squash I had in the fridge was dying to be placed in a frittata – a frittata it was.   I’ve made plenty of frittata’s before – but never had the leftover squash to hand to chuck in (squash is one of my favourite foods so leftovers don’t tend to exist).  The squash gave such a wonderful texture to the frittata, it held together so beautifully out of the pan that this is a combo I know I will be cooking up time and again.  I had the leftovers for breakfast the following day.  Still held together with a great texture and flavour.  Thanks Ellie for forcing me out of my carnivore comfort zone.  Next time I’ll be a little more imaginative.

Squash Frittata with Tabbouleh

Squash Frittata with Tabbouleh

To go with the squash I added a smokey flavour with paprika, some colour with red peppers, and all important green veg with some beetroot tops.  I like my food to look pretty colourful. If you don’t have beetroot tops then kale or spinach will also work.  It was served alongside some of my Tabbouleh for a complete meal.

I couldn’t not mention that Ellie is a blogger too – she makes the most wonderfully elaborate & creative cakes and tells us her story behind them over at Ellabelle’s Kitchen.

Ingredients (serves 3-ish)

  • 1 red pepper, diced (capiscum)
  • 10 large free-range eggs
  • seasoning
  • 1 tsp smoked Paprika
  • Half a large -pre roasted butternut squash, cut up into bite-sized chunks
  • 8 beet tops (or sub for a handful of kale / spinach)

Method

  • Pre-heat your grill to medium
  • First up fry the red pepper in medium frying pan (approx 10inch diameter) in a touch of coconut oil until it softens.  
  • Whilst the pepper is cooking prepare the eggs. Whisk the 10 eggs together with a pinch of Celtic salt, black pepper and the paprika.
  • When the pepper is soft, add the beet tops and stir fry till they begin to wilt (you may need to add a touch of oil or my favourite ghee at this stage).  Then evenly scatter over the squash and pour in the eggs.  Leave to cook on the hob till the sides begin to set, then transfer to the grill to finish off.
  • The frittata is done when the top is browned with no trace of runny egg.  remove from heat and slice up to serve.

Leftovers can be stored for future meals either in the fridge or freezer.

Leave a Reply

