Crab Cakes with Watercress Mayo

Crab Cakes vs Crap Games

Crab Cakes with Watercress Mayonnaise

Crab Cakes with Watercress Mayonnaise

I absolutely thought the line from the Rodgers and Hart song Lady is a Tramp was “She doesn’t like crab cakes with barons and earls” and I’ve been merrily singing this since I stumbled upon a pot of fresh crab meat in the supermarket last week.  However now it appears that it actually might be “she doesn’t like crap games with barons and earls”. Someone somewhere is playing a fool of me – which is it???  Though admittedly this isn’t the first time I’ve got in a twist about misheard lyrics.  A Radiohead song about 90s footballer Paul Ince once made perfect sense to me and my sister… 

To my memory I’ve only eaten crab once before – fresh from the beach in Aldeburgh, Suffolk. For some peculiar reason I’ve been fancying trying it again recently but struggled to find crab that wasn’t in a can with sugar and other preservatives or expensively loaded in its own shell and already dressed with ingredients I didn’t want to eat.  Unsurprisingly London isn’t a particularly renowned place for readily sourcing seafood.  I’d almost given up till I stumbled upon a pot of fresh crab meat in a supermarket last week.  It wasn’t cheap mind –  £3.80 for a small pot, which would only feed me – but since I’d been so desperate to have a go at some crab cakes I decided to treat myself to the pot and set off home to my kitchen to embrace the task at hand. 

Crab Meat

Crab – 50% brown, 50% white meat

I’ve become more determined of late to step away from the cookbooks and let my senses guide me when creating a new recipes, so took little guidance for this one.  I was therefore really pleased how these turned out!  I love how the sweet potato helps the cakes stick together whist lending a delicate sweetness.  I decided not to use an egg to bind, since the already quite wet mix would have been too runny and instead I opted for a bit of absorbent gluten-free coconut flour to stick it all together.  

Oh and in case you’re wondering what the green stuff is around the plate??  It’s garden foliage.  The summer evening light in my kitchen was dying so I took the plate out to my front porch to snap a bright pic.  Unfortunately I got caught in the act by my neighbour (whom I don’t know at all, and therefore has no idea about this hobby of mine) who must of thought it most odd for me to be standing on my front doorstep with a plate of crab cakes and a camera… The crazy things I do as a food blogger!  This ever happened to anyone else??

Ingredients 

Crab cakes (makes 3 cakes, enough for 1 as a main meal)

  • 1/2 a small sweet potato (roughly 100g of potato once steamed)
  • 100g crab meat (a mix of brown and white)
  • 1/2 Tablespoon mayonnaise (home made with olive oil)
  • 1/2 tsp dijon mustard
  • 1 Tablespoon chopped parsley
  • 1/2 Tablespoon chives
  • Zest of half a lemon
  • seasoning
  • 1 Tablespoon of coconut flour
  • Coconut oil for cooking.

Watercress Mayo (serves 2-3)

  • 2 Tablespoons homemade mayonnaise (home made with olive oil)
  • 40g Watercress leaves
  • Squeeze of lemon juice

Method

  • Steam the potato till soft.  Mash. 
  • While the potato is cooking mix the crab meat with the mayonnaise, dijon, parsley, chives and lemon zest.
  • Add the potato to the crab mix, along with the coconut flour and seasoning.  Shape into 3 cakes.
  • Place in the fridge for around 30 minutes.  This will help them keep their shape when cooking.
  • Now make up the watercress mayonnaise by blending the mayo with watercress and a squeeze of lemon juice to loosen. Decant into a serving dish.
  • When you’re ready to cook the cakes, heat up a good amount of coconut oil in a pan, add the cakes, and cook on low for 4-5 minutes each side.  Don’t allow to get too hot or the outside of the cakes will burn before the insides are warmed through.
  • Serve up with some steamed green broccoli and a wedge of lemon.
2 thoughts on “Crab Cakes with Watercress Mayo

Leave a Reply

