Lavender, Rosehip & Coconut Face Oil

Homemade Beauty

Healing Lavender

Healing & fragrant lavender

A while back I wrote a post about my natural beauty regime.  Since then I’ve been keen to have a go at making up my own products – in particular a moisturiser for my face – so have been doing a bit more research on what ingredients to combine which will suit my skin. This article is a great resource from which to start.  Or, If you want to do some more in depth research there is a fantastic book by Neal’s Yard on Essential Oils.  For my recipe I settled on Coconut oil (base oil), Rosehip oil (bonus oil) and Lavender oil (my essential oil).

Here’s a little more about my ingredients and why I chose them,

  • Coconut oil: The base oil.  I always have plenty of extra virgin coconut oil hanging about in the kitchen for cooking, and since I already know it works on my skin beautifully without any extras I decided to stick with coconut oil for my base oil.  Almond oil, avocado or grapeseed oil are also commonly used in natural products. If using coconut oil on your skin, always use organic, cold pressed extra virgin oil – it is purer and has a lovely coconut aroma.  True, it is more expensive, but a little goes an awful long way and if you compare it gram to gram of a pricey moisturiser it is an absolute steal.  Coconut oil is antibacterial, antimicrobial and antifungal – seems like a great start for something that goes on your face – helping to clear up acne, eczema and maintaining youthful supple skin.  I am a walking example of how it can help with eczema.  back in January I had a painful bout on my eyelids (lovely I know).  Daily use of coconut oil on the affected area sent it well and truly away (as well as making some amendments to my diet such as bone broth at that time).
  • Rosehip oil: The bonus oil – adds an extra therapeutic dimension to the moisturiser. Rosehip oil is extracted from wild rose – Rosa Mosqueta.  The hip is the fruit of the plant.  It contains fatty acids (omega 3,6,9), antioxidants, beta-carotene & vitamin C.  It’s known benefits are helping to keep skin supple, reducing signs of ageing and reducing scars particularly acne scars for example.  I choose rosehip oil because I have a number of scars on my face – some from the ridiculous acne I suffered in my early 20s and others from a road accident 7 years ago.  I wish I’d started using rosehip oil way back then instead of Bio oil (which doesn’t work by the way).  Since I’ve started using rosehip daily I have noticed a change in my skin for the better.
  • Lavender oil: The essential oil.  Lavender adds a gorgeous smell to the product, but also brings a multitude of therapeutic healing properties – such as antiseptic, anti-inflammatory, antiviral.  It can be useful in healing scars, and the anti-inflammatory properties can help sooth eczema, and acne.  Sounds like a great fit for my other oils in this moisturiser and perfect for my skin!  Pure lavender oil is also a brilliant natural product to use directly on insect bits – I tried this when I got eaten alive in Italy earlier this year.  It stopped the itching and brought down some of the inflammation.  Other oils such as tea-tree oil etc. can be wonderful in a home made moisturiser too. 

Bonus and essential oils are available from health food stores, or shops like Neal’s Yard Remedies.

Ingredients for Lavender Face Oil

Ingredients for Lavender Face Oil

Here’s my recipe for a small pot.  You can of course up or downscale these quantities to fit whichever pot or glass jar you have to hand.  Oh and the real lavender in these photos is just for show, it’s not in the recipe…

Recipe (Makes up 1 v small tub which will last a good few weeks), 

  • 1 tablespoon of organic extra-virgin coconut oil
  • 1/2 tsp rosehip oil
  • 2-3 drops of essential lavender oil

Method

  • If the coconut oil is solid at room temperature, melt then allow to cool slightly.
  • Pour the coconut oil into a small container with the rosehip and lavender oils, stir till all oils are well combined. That’s it!
  • Storing the oil at room temperature is fine.  It should solidify however in warmer climates it will remain a liquid.
  • When ready to use pour (or scoop out if the oil has solidified) a drop into your hand, warm on the palm of your hand with your fingers, and massage into your face after cleansing in the morning and at night.

If you want to have a go at a simple product yourself I can also recommend this Olive oil, brown sugar and tea tree oil scrub recipe by Adura.  A great way to use up any pesky sugar you have lying around (you certainly shouldn’t be eating it 😉 )

With thanks to Nutiva for the organic extra-virgin coconut oil.  A great quality product which I also love to cook with.  Available on line and from health food stores, or shops like planet organic & whole foods. 

One thought on “Lavender, Rosehip & Coconut Face Oil

  1. Pingback: Infuso di rosa canina [Rosehip tea] | {LaCaccavella}

Leave a Reply

